It Will Fall Under Me

My theory

Is that this bridge was built

To hold trains

Weighing thousands of tons.

Now

I ride across it.

Not weighing thousands of tons.

Not even a ton.

But

It will crash and fall

When I’m on it.

So

Ride fast

Hard

Right down the middle

And without looking left or right.

Because looking left or right

Will also make it fall.

And riding fast and in the middle

Means I can out ride

As the trestles fall.

Train Bridge

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

30 thoughts on “It Will Fall Under Me

  1. It does look a bit frightening… Enough to defy logic.

    • Of course, though built to carry thousands of tons, it defies logic that it will come crashing down because of me. But me and logic sometimes part ways.

      • I hardly think you’re the only one. I mean, think of the likelihood of something happening while you’re on a roller coaster. I mean it happens but those things are super tested in this day and age. Yet it is the fear/thrill factor that attracts most people (but not me!!)

        • I’m not attracted necessarily to the ‘thrill’. But more so the view, the moment of being ‘there’. “Thrill” would be part of it if that was part of the experience. I forget about my height issues so ‘thrill’ was an unplanned part of this one. 🙂

  2. niaaeryn says:

    Bridges have a funny effect with me too sometimes. Still beautiful and frightening all at once. I would speed up too all the same. 🙂

  3. What a wonderful bridge! It does look a bit scary, but it also looks fun to ride on. I vote for “fun to ride on.”

  4. April says:

    keep pedaling, you’ll find wonders on the other side!

  5. What a great old bridge but I don’t know if I’d want to cross it.

  6. ksbeth says:

    kind of a metaphor for life.

  7. I’m totally on board with that theory Colleen! ❤
    Diana xo

  8. I think it’s a risk you have to take, just do it. I try to face many of my challenges that way. Bridges scare me a wee bit.

  9. Debra says:

    I find bridges a lot more comfortable if I don’t think! I don’t know about going across by bike…how fast can you pedal? Maybe carry a little parachute in your backpack. 🙂

  10. Mustang.Koji says:

    I don’t know the word that describes this type of writing…but it’s wonderful. Perhaps we should call it “Should Be Colleening” style.

    And do you have a fear of falling or being underneath? I remember your writing awhile back about that stone bridge.

    • 🙂 You have a fabulous memory Koji. The stone bride I think I was fearful when I was on it, AND then fearful when I was under it. In general it’s the falling off or it breaking under me kind of fear.

      And thank you friend.

  11. markbialczak says:

    What a marvelous mind game you play and win, MBC. 🙂

  12. reocochran says:

    Sometimes we set our own challenges and meet them. Bridges are often symbols of passages. Keep on crossing and pedaling, Colleen.

Leave a Reply

