Don’t Ever Believe

What a politician tells you.

Than an insurance company cares.

That it will only sting a little.

In what you can’t do.

It isn’t possible.

That liver tastes good.

That you can’t learn something.

That you are forever stuck.

That forgiveness is impossible.

What you know is not true.

You can’t conquer your monsters.

A good life is work free.

In others setting your limits.

That change is impossible.

That love can’t be forever.

And never, ever, under any circumstances believe in:

One coat paint.

***

**

*

The list goes on….

Tagged , , , , , ,

41 thoughts on “Don’t Ever Believe

  1. Ann Koplow says:

    I believe in you and this post!

  2. ksbeth says:

    i believe you are very right –

  3. Victo Dolore says:

    That made me giggle! One coat paint is the biggest deceit of all. I have fallen for it several times… πŸ˜‰

  4. Good ones Colleen, especially about forgiveness. πŸ™‚

  5. I used to love fried liver and onions with tomato sauce, but seriously so much truth in what you have written.

  6. Great list! My personal favorite: that liver tastes good. Haha! and I love the last one. Never believe in one coat paint! Now my mind will be making a list all day long. See what you started. πŸ˜€

  7. But I so want to believe in one coat paint Colleen! ❀
    Diana xo

  8. Yes I like the paint one too. Interesting things to ponder. Also “easy to assemble”.

  9. Mustang.Koji says:

    I believe you are 100% right…

  10. On coat paint, eh? Good to know now that we are about to paint the apartment.

  11. tric says:

    Love ‘that liver tastes good’. Brought back memories of a childhood often hearing this lie. Great fun adding to this one.

  12. Val Boyko says:

    It all comes down to the paint doesn’t it …
    Thanks for the chuckle and being 100% right of course!

  13. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ All on the money, especially the second l.a.s.t. line. I fell off my chair laughing.

  14. niaaeryn says:

    Yes it does, and the timing for this is perfect. Well said and much needed, Colleen. Thanks for the midweek positivity. πŸ™‚ Although, I must also confess to having liked liverwurst with dijon mustard on a sandwich…though very rare occasions at that. πŸ™‚

    • Okay now, liverwurst, I think, is what we as kids called “dog poop”. And, we loved it. But I could be wrong. Mustard and onion. Though I could have my wursts mixed up. πŸ˜‰

  15. Debra says:

    I had to laugh at your punchline, but you’ve created a perfect list. Maybe we should teach our children to memorize it early! It could really be helpful to have that knowledge early. πŸ™‚

    • I’m all for memorization!!! Something we don’t use often enough in school any more.

      I think I would be better off if I tried to memorize something more often.

      Thank you for the laugh! πŸ™‚

  16. inmycorner says:

    Ha ha ha – I like especially that one is not to believe in one coat of paint. Paint is perhaps like habits – never formed until the second or third coat. Great post, my friend.

  17. markbialczak says:

    Not even with bacon and onions does liver taste good, MBC. Oh, I get more than this from your great post. But I had to share that one belief.

Leave a Reply

