How Are You Going To Die?

Are you going to die happy?

Happy with the way you’ve lived your life.  Happy with the people you chose to fill your life with.  Happy with the way you spoke to your children, took care of your aging parents, and treated your co-workers.   Happy with the laughter you chose as background music to your life.  Happy with the life you created with the person you chose as your partner.

Are you going to die pleased?

Pleased with the work you produced.  Pleased with the thought you took care to think before you spoke.  Pleased with the reactions of the people in your world when you walked in to a room.  Pleased with the effort you put in to a life lived well.

Are you going to die tired?

Tired from expending your energies making the world a better place than when you arrived.  Tired from crying at sappy movies. Tired from laughing at goofy jokes.  Tired from lifting yourself up when you were down.  And tired from helping others lift themselves up when they were down.  Tired from exhausting every chance you had at living fully.

Are you going to die peacefully?

Peaceful with the efforts you made at resolving ill will you created or you suffered from.  Peaceful with the attitude you presented during difficult times.  Peaceful with the choices you made and resolved yourself to see through.

Are you going to die thankfully?

Thankful for the love you received.  Thankful for the love you gave.  Thankful for the forgiveness you gave.  Thankful someone else forgave you.  Thankful for the wisdom you gained from every mistake you made.  Thankful for the time you had.

Are you going to die wishfully?

Wishing you had more to give.  Wishing you had given more.  Wishing you had time to do more because you always looked for more to do.  Wishing you had been better, done better.

Are you going to die hopefully?

Hoping you will be missed.  Hoping you mattered.  Hoping that what you did meant something to someone.  Hoping that the smiles you left behind far outnumber the weight of the tears you caused.

I wonder these things for myself.  And have decided if I’m not ready to die with the answers I would get right now, I better start living the way I want to die.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

51 thoughts on “How Are You Going To Die?

  1. jmgoyder says:

    What a ‘wake-up’ call!

  2. Colleen, this post is magnificent! I am going to file it in my “Read Often” file! Make sure you have copyrighted this because I’m afraid others may try to claim it for themselves (not me, I assure you) It truly is that wonderful. It sure makes one think and want to live their lives better.

  3. Sue Vincent says:

    Beautifully done, Colleen. I think I’ll be happy if the report card comes in with “Could do better but tried hard.”

  4. AUTHOR! AUTHOR! HIP-HIP-HOORAY!!!! VERY thought provoking and inspiring!

  5. pepe says:

    A thought provoking article..!!!

  6. Well, if I had my way, I’d probably die drowning in a vat of chocolate….

  7. cindy says:

    Wow, that sickness really got you thinking! This is wonderful and I should read it EVERY day!

  8. mewhoami says:

    Strange timing. I was just thinking something along these lines a moment ago; asking myself what I’m doing in this life and what kind of legacy my life would leave behind if I were to die today. I was saddened by my answer. There is so much I need to be doing, so much more than I am doing now. Thank you for this very timely post.

    • You’re welcome MWAI. It’s more important to me what my children and grands think of me than any ‘thing’ I could leave behind as well. I believe we are on the same journey so to speak.

  9. Paul says:

    The year that I was declared cancer free after a 2 year battle this song was released.

  10. duncanr says:

    wow, much to think about there, colleen !

  11. I haven’t given my life much thought but this post has me thinking. Another fabulous post, Colleen. ❤ ❤ ❤

  12. reocochran says:

    Super questions and thoughts here, Colleen.
    I wrote a letter 7 years,ago of the best moments of my life for my kids to find. I don’t want to leave when someone needs me still or if somehow we have parted in a tiff. I would want each person in my life to know I truly cherished every moment with each of them. How even little gestures changed the “texture” of my days. 🙂

  13. Debra says:

    One thing for sure, if we don’t think about these rings we’re not leaving the world, or our loved ones, with much! Chances are good I am definitely going to die tired. I think I get an “E for effort” in that department. 🙂 Excellent food for thought!

  14. Mustang.Koji says:

    I don’t know if I want to contemplate those questions! 😉

  15. niaaeryn says:

    I know the feeling and have pondered this lately. My goal is happy, Lennon fan I suppose. Peaceful and thankful are good too, but really am shooting for overall happy.
    Well written as ever and ponderous too in the best of ways. A good reminder. 🙂

  16. inmycorner says:

    Wow, wow, wow! “I better start living the way I want to die.” That is amazing. I think you have captured a year’s worth of my writing in one phrase. I was thinking if I were to write a book I would call it, “dying to live” but that was almost too depressing. I love what you wrote today, Colleen. Bravo.

  17. Very intelligent and thought provoking Colleen as others have said. Perhaps we should spend more time on what is important. I know I shall die happy that I have given my girls the best I could, the man I love all of me and my penguins hopefully a daughter to be proud of. Excellent post ❤️

  18. Very thought provoking wake-up call Colleen. Thank uou so much for this post.

  19. You were sick?? I’m sorry, hope you are much better now. I’m kind of going backwards with this post because I saw I had missed it 🙂 I loved it as soon as I read it.
    I want to go mindfully, Colleen. Present with whatever ails me, present with my family and loved ones, but most of all with awareness.

  20. markbialczak says:

    You are so very wise, MBC. Very, very. Very.

  21. Jim McKeever says:

    Excellent questions, Colleen. And an excellent answer as well!

Leave a Reply

