Follow The Orange Blaze

Follow the orange blaze I heard.

DSC_0257

Enjoy the day with your friend she asked.

And I said…sure.

Cliff

It will be beautiful

We were pretty sure.

DSC_0242

And we were right.

DSC_0262

Just watch for those orange blazes.

DSC_0250

And stick with your friend.

DSC_0258

Until she disappears.

Me Hike

And this is the last known picture taken of me.

When I continued to follow the endless orange blazes…

DSC_0257

That loop

And loop

And loop.

As everyone else follows the white blazes.

And then call the forrest rangers out to find and rescue you.

***

Disclaimer.

I wasΒ not lost.

I knew whereΒ I was.

I was not in the right place.

Until I got back to the right place.

I never stopped looking, moving and getting there.

I just took a longer time to get there.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

39 thoughts on “Follow The Orange Blaze

  1. You finally got there. That’s what’s important. πŸ™‚

  2. [ Smiles ] I followed the orange blaze and found it entertaining!

  3. tric says:

    What a beautiful place to experience this time of year.

  4. niaaeryn says:

    Beautiful colors! I too have taken awhile to get to the meeting point…but I was lost, my friend who was guiding us was not…just a little off on the trail general direction was okay. πŸ™‚

  5. dogear6 says:

    Ha ha ha ha! In other words, you followed the path you thought was right. Just like the rest of your life! Loved the pictures and that was a great one of you especially.

    Nancy

    P.S. Thanks again for getting together last weekend. That was wonderful!

    • It was a great visit Nancy. David and I still talk about it. πŸ™‚

      I did follow where I thought I was supposed to be. But where I was supposed to be is not where I was. πŸ˜‰

  6. Paul says:

    Personally I think being lost is an important part of being human. I get lost regularly on purpose.

  7. Gibber says:

    I’m still following it. When is someone coming to get me? Ha!

  8. The photos are exquisite. If I’m parted from others I hope it will be in such circumstances.

    • It was beautiful. Towards the end there were some beautiful caves. But I had gone too far and was too tired to get the camera out again. Which just means I should go back. πŸ˜‰

  9. ksbeth says:

    i completely understand this. i have been directionally waylaid a few times or more in my life. i always find where i wanted to be after seeing something new and wonderful. what a beautiful place to be –

  10. Well, thank goodness you got to where others would know where you were. And good thing you knew where you were. πŸ™‚

  11. Sounds a bit ominous to me…

  12. Mustang.Koji says:

    The gig’s up… We know it’s Halloween and you wanted Po to rescue you in his Ranger outfit!!! Or was it Tonto?

  13. Wow for some colors Colleen and I think that you enjoyed your trip anyway πŸ™‚

  14. reocochran says:

    This reminds me of the loops and loops around Highbanks, Colleen. I used to think if I kept going left I could get outta there! πŸ™‚ The blaze markings are intriguing, too. I like using a phone bur unless you also have a compass, it is hard to describe “Where are you?” Smiles, Robin

    • I didn’t have service where I was Robin, and as ridiculous as it sounds, I really knew “where” I was. I had just not received the information on how to get ‘out’ of where I was. πŸ˜‰ Next time, I will make sure I go in with knowing more!

  15. jmgoyder says:

    I really love this – you have such a talent for compressing the big thing of life into the simplicity of the moment (or something like that!)

  16. markbialczak says:

    Who knew the woods would be full of orange blaze, MBC? It’s a beautiful place to lose yourself in, that’s for certain! I know you always have your wits about you, that’s for sure. Right?!

  17. Debra says:

    I love this! I could read this both literally and as a very beautiful allegory for just getting through life! If I were to get lost, I would want it to be somewhere as beautiful as your gorgeous orange blaze!

Leave a Reply

