When I See You Salute

When I see your uniform

I feel safer.

Uniform

When I see your salute

I feel respect.

Salute

When I see your attention

I feel stronger.

Attention!

When I see your return

I feel grateful.

Coming Home

When I see your sacrifice

I know I cannot ever pay that debt.

Sacrifice

When I see you

Soldier Awe1

I will thank you.

Because of you.

And in your honor.

I cherish my freedoms.

Every day.

Freedoms

When I see you.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

26 thoughts on “When I See You Salute

  1. Ann Koplow says:

    When I see you, Colleen, I feel thankful.

  2. Ann pretty much said my words. Thankful for your wisdom and your words. 💜

  3. This is wonderful! And it is so fitting for Veteran’s Day!

  4. ksbeth says:

    yes, i feel a deep gratitude for all they do for us.

  5. niaaeryn says:

    Well said, and the pacing as ever brilliant. Wonderful tribute for Veteran’s Day. I know I grin a lot, and I want to here, but it seems wrong on something so somber and weighty. Thank you for your words; they are beautiful.

  6. Mustang.Koji says:

    So powerful yet so simple. Thank you… vets and Colleen!

  7. April says:

    Very beautiful tribute!

  8. There definitely is a feeling a respect when seeing someone in the armed forces in uniform that surpasses all others.

    • I think, too, some of my most powerful moments have been when I am sitting with an older person. I discover they are a veteran, and then see a picture of a once more physically powerful human being. And now they sit before me, aged, not as strong. And yet I see in them that soldier, that guardian and protector. And I forever imagine them in that dual existence. And wonder about who protects and guards them. Now.

      • Yes, it’s true when you think of what they were and now they are much more likely to be victims. It’s very sad when you think about it. I like to think that there is some good will and faith in humanity that protects them now.

    • Maybe that will be my blog tomorrow.

  9. mewhoami says:

    What a wonderful tribute this is to the men and women who sacrifice so much for our freedom and safety.

  10. reocochran says:

    I will definitely always give my thanks.
    I am glad you still have this opportunity through your work. You help demonstrate respect and honor.
    I wrote about my own personal relationship with Vets at a nursing home in another post. I once wrote about my older second cousin twins, Johnny and Eddie who fought in Vietnam.
    Thank YOU, Colleen!

Leave a Reply

