The Missing Man Table

I attended a ceremony today to honor veterans.

I learned more about the POW/MIA flag than I knew there was to know.

Today is Veteran Awareness Day.

One of the most moving things I learned

Was about the

Missing Man Table.

Missing Man Table

What the table represents:

The Small Round Table:

Frailty of one isolated prisoner.

Everlasting concern of family and friends.

The White Table Cloth:

Purity of purpose and intentions.

The Single Red Rose:

Blood of their sacrifice.

Love of the families.

The Slice of Lemon:

Bitter fate of the missing.

The Burning Candle:

Light of hope, in our hearts, guiding them home.

A Pinch Of Salt:

Countless fallen tears.

The Bible:

Faith.

Inverted Glass:

The missing and fallen cannot partake.

The Empty Chair:

 The missing and fallen are not present.

*

*

*

(There are many variations to this symbolism.  I found it very moving.)

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

21 thoughts on “The Missing Man Table

  1. I didn’t know this either. That is very interesting! POW/MIA sacrificed a great deal for us, some, even their lives.

  2. a very sad image and I love how you found a voice in these simple objects.

  3. What a wonderful post! Thanks!

  4. niaaeryn says:

    It is very moving. I had no idea about this table until now. It is a powerful image.

  5. ksbeth says:

    what a perfect and powerful symbol –

  6. Jim McKeever says:

    I had never heard of that symbolic table, Colleen … thank you.

  7. reocochran says:

    I had never heard of this which meant this post was informative and meaningful, Colleen. Soldiers not making it home to their families makes me get a little teary-eyed.

  8. Debra says:

    I had never heard this before and I’m very touched. What a wonderful ceremony!

Leave a Reply

