When I Speak

I appreciate an in-depth conversation with a friend.  Someone who listens and understands you.

Like today.

“I’m so jealous of others who can create something and with their creation they can provoke such powerful emotions within others.  Pulling them out.  I want that.  I want to provoke emotion like that in others.”

Without missing a beat my friend responds  “you provoke the shit out of me all the time”.

That’s not exactly what I meant…..

When I speak there’s always a a good chance I misspeak.

 

 

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

39 thoughts on “When I Speak

  1. Ann Koplow says:

    You provoke wonderful things in me (and in your other readers, I’m sure).

  2. LOL! I think you provoke strong emotions all the time. I mean that in a good way. 😀

  3. You’re writing and drawings do provoke emotion Colleen! ❤
    Diana xo

  4. ksbeth says:

    you do provoke, and in a powerfully good way, colleen )

  5. You provoke me! haha seriously you have thought provoking posts that i enjoy!

  6. Are you kidding? Jealous? You! Your words. Your posts. Your self do that, in the best of ways. Yup, you sure do. ❤ Happy Thanksgiving to you and your gang. ❤ 🙂

  7. niaaeryn says:

    You provoke in a good way. a full spectrum from joy, inspiration, and sorrow, and always giving one a moment of reflection.
    Always in a positive turn; do not worry on that. It is positive. 🙂

  8. Hey, I would prefer that to mediocrity.

  9. Robin says:

    lol! You provoke in good ways, CM. Very good ways. 🙂

  10. russtowne says:

    LOL! I think you evoke much more than you provoke.

  11. inmycorner says:

    Oh, you are provocative all right! grin. I liked to provoke too – and to be provoked. Provocation inspires learning!

  12. Debra says:

    This reminded me of the time a friend told me how much she appreciated my “truth telling.” She said something like, “You always tell me the truth. You’re very direct and sometimes it REALLY hurts my feelings, but you tell me what I need to hear.” Gheesh! I just sat there wondering if I really just got a compliment or a slap down. LOL! I think you got a compliment. 🙂

  13. reocochran says:

    Next time, maybe try using the words “inspire” or “evoke” emotions in place of provoke, Colleen! Most of my friends would laugh at this misspeak. I irritate some people with ways I talk. I received a text with a disclaimer of someone who may not use “good grammar” like I would critique his choice of words. Lol

  14. So very cute, I laughed, good on you sweety. ❤️

  15. Great post sending me into thought mode with a smile.

  16. April says:

    We all think we misspeak, but I am one who agrees with the rest, you provoke emotions in me….you make me think of things from different perspectives.

Leave a Reply

