I’m Not What You Think I Am

I’m not what you think I am.

And I’m not what I wish I was.

I am a coward who can have brave moments.

I am not a thief but might steal to survive.

I am not a killer but could I kill to protect my child?

I’m not an advocate but I will stand up for what I think is right.

I write my thoughts but I don’t write my all.

I do not fear death but I do not want to die.

I do good deeds but fail at genuine kindness.

I have worked hard at many things and never met my potential.

I love my husband but don’t always act with love.

I cannot carry a tune but I sing every day.

I cherish my siblings but don’t always make the time.

I think I am good but know I am capable of bad.

I try to be responsible and succeed at times in doing nothing.

I am realistic to the core but dream of possibilities every day.

I am rooted firmly in home but yearn for adventure.

I believe in God but do not understand religion.

I speak with truths but do not always tell the truth.

I am what ever you think of me  but not who you think I am.

I’m not what you think I am.

And I’m not what I wish I was.

These are my completed truths.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

31 thoughts on “I’m Not What You Think I Am

  1. A reasonably description of most of humanity.

  2. This is awesome! You speak a lot of truths in this!

  3. Me neither Colleen – well written! ❤
    Diana xo

  4. Colleen … I pure love this! Pure love it! I am the same way!

  5. Nothing is black and white…

  6. Neither am I. No one is. When did a thought become a person anyway? You are so wonderful and all of everything that I think most of us fumbling humans are. But then what I think is just another thought. But I like the thought that tells me you are a special human being. ❤

  7. Ocean Bream says:

    I really enjoyed reading this 🙂 A lot of the things you said can be generalised to encompass humanity but there are some very personal ones in there. You write the most beautiful little lifey poems!

  8. russtowne says:

    I believe that few long-time readers of your blog would be surprised by any of this, Colleen. You share such glimpses of yourself and your spirit in nearly every post. It is part of why so many of us feel such a close connection with you. You share what many of us feel. The joys and the aches, soaring hopes and plunging disappointments, and so much more. Your glimpses of you offer greater glimpses of us. That is part of what makes you so precious and rare in your writing, and so universal in your humanity.

    • Russ, thank you. How do I respond to that? I am feeling grateful and humbled and surrounded. By kindness and wonderful people. We all seem to find one another here on WP because we find the same things important. Thank you Russ.

  9. niaaeryn says:

    Complicated, true, but often we live in a world f varying grey with dark and light. Seems a truth of being human, and very honest. To be so honest says a great deal in a good way. 🙂

  10. tric says:

    Layer upon layer. A post true of everyone I would think.

  11. ksbeth says:

    i think we all are in the midst of many gray areas, few are black or white –

  12. You are you and only you know, who you are Colleen 🙂
    I see a beautiful soul, when I think at you 😀

  13. Jenna Dee says:

    Thank you for having the courage to share your complete truths. I now feel inspired to do the same.

  14. bikebrown says:

    You are a complex, yet simple woman.

  15. I like what you have to say! I like your honesty and understanding! interesting and very true for many of us! we have many truths

  16. Debra says:

    So beautiful, Colleen. I love, “I am what ever you think of me but not who you think I am.” That statement really stands out and seems important to remember. You have a wonderful way of sharing yourself, and that’s a gift to us all. ox

    • Thank you Debra. I think of that statement often when people truly don’t understand, or even try to tell me how I feel or what I think.

      I constantly process this stuff so writing it down helps me. 🙂 I like that it has some kind of impact on others.

  17. April says:

    You sound human and are the best you you can be. Sometimes better than others.

  18. reocochran says:

    I like knowing flawed people since I cannot fit in with those perfect ones! Hugs, Robin

Leave a Reply

