12 Minutes Or So

I went to a local coffee house today at lunch.  I thought a quick, brisk walk would be just what I needed.  Grab a coffee and go back to work.

I ordered a coffee and at the last minute grabbed a bag of Sun Chips and decided to sit down instead of just walking back to work and taking advantage of a different environment.

I’m glad I did.

There was a group of special needs adults at a table.  I sat far enough away that I wasn’t intruding on them, but close enough I could absorb some of the joy I heard from them.   Pleasant talk.  Happy talk.  I just wanted to kind of exist in the moment of no pressure, no decisions, no anything.

During the 12 or so minutes I sat there three different women came up and asked me my name.

One asked me if I had sweaters to give away.  I said I didn’t but asked if she needed one.  She said no and laughed with me.

One told me she was going to start a program that she hoped would get her a job, as a cook.

One just wanted to meet me.   For no reason it seemed, just wanted to come over and say hi.

I’m sure I could come up with something about this little interlude to my work day.   Something to reflect on.  Something to learn from.

But I think I will just let it sit in my thoughts as a wonderful interaction between me and other human beings.

Because it just feels good to remember it.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

31 thoughts on “12 Minutes Or So

  1. russtowne says:

    Thank you for sharing this special moment and connection. I like to think of special needs people as Special Gifts people. When connecting with them I often come away with a smile and blessings they’ve given to me.

  2. I love talking to strangers and people-watching! 😉
    Diana xo

  3. Sounds like a good day to me!

    • Amen Marissa! One of my friends commented on Facebook that he saw me coming out of the coffee house with a smile on my face, now he knows why. 🙂 I’m glad it was obvious. 🙂

  4. reocochran says:

    Colleen, I am so happy you soaked a lot of positive energy from these nearby customers. It was a pleasure to read this and imagine it. How interesting the dialogue went.
    Do you remember how excited the special needs adult, Amber was when I “commissioned her,” Colleen? But then it took 3 months of going back to remind her and the group leader about the plan. 🙂 Each time I go into Creative Foundations building on our main street (Sandusky Street) the energy is like a joyous party. 🙂 They would like me to buy more. I tell them my walls are very full of art. They probably cannot imagine this!
    On a similar note, slept over at my youngest daughter’s house and saw Amber’s painting is hung on the wall.

  5. The pleasure of your experience is our learning ☺👍

  6. ksbeth says:

    what a beautiful intersection of people of all kinds, appreciating each others’ gifts.

  7. What sweet interaction between you and three very innocent and lovely ladies! I would also feel blessed after these interactions.

  8. Val Boyko says:

    Connection is so heartwarming!

  9. It does feel good to remember these things, that live in the heart. Left a warm feeling in mine. ❤

  10. Holly says:

    Truly taking the time to see everything around us, both you and them. Beautiful moment 🙂

  11. Mustang.Koji says:

    What an encounter, Chatter Master. I take it these three ladies were from the group. It is impressive how you reflect…

  12. This is a feel good post for sure! I love the interaction and joy and fun in this little interlude from work! Special!!

  13. niaaeryn says:

    Sounds like a lovely time with good company.:)

  14. April says:

    Wouldn’t it be nice if everybody slowed down and spent 12 minutes every now and then?

  15. ❤ Very heartwarming for you and them, as well as me reading about it. I worked with special needs adults before moving to Ireland. In many ways they have the best qualities of children, trusting and uninhibited, less troubled by 'it all', but with life experience that makes them more relatable as a peer. Thanks for sharing your experience. Xx

  16. tric says:

    His lovely. I was in a busy shopping centre before Xmas and a school if young children were carolling. Two adults with special needs stood enthralled listening. Every time they finished a song they clapped and cheered very loudly. It really gave the season a feel good factor.

  17. Sweet story. I’ll bet meeting you made them happy, and vice versa. How great that they had no fear coming up and talking to you and asking your name. Who does that nowadays? I wish more people were like that. We’re so self-absorbed we tend to not care about those around us or want to be bothered by them. I’m accusing myself here, too. But it’s nice that there are still such friendly people out there.

Leave a Reply

