He’s Going To Be A Man Some Day

He’s going to be a man some day.

But tonight he’s just a child.   Small enough for me to hoist with one arm to my shoulder.   He wakes briefly, sees it is me, and safely drops back to sleep.  No fear in his heart knowing he is protected.

Tonight I carried him, sleeping, from the car to the house.

 But, he’s going to be a man some day.

When that some day comes.

I hope he remembers the love that lifted him.  Carried him.  Treasured him.  Protected him.

Before he was a man.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

37 thoughts on “He’s Going To Be A Man Some Day

  1. This is so sweet! He will remember. I’m sure of that. 🙂

  2. Tell me about it! Mine is 13!!

  3. Victo Dolore says:

    Sniffle. That was beautiful. 🙂

  4. He will Colleen. ❤
    Diana xo

  5. With all that love, I’m sure he will be the best man he can be.

  6. ksbeth says:

    he will remember. in his mind, and mostly in his heart.

  7. Val Boyko says:

    Love like this remains in our hearts for ever. 💕

  8. Be still my heart. I feel how full your heart is when I read this. ❤ ❤ ❤

  9. Heartafire says:

    These are the best times. We want to protect them forever. Great writing Chatter

  10. That is so lovingly beautiful. If only all of us who were carried in that love remembered it, especially at times when most needed. ❤

  11. russtowne says:

    I have no doubt that he’ll remmember. Anything done with great love tends to be remembered fondly for a long, long time by those who were raised well, and I have no doubt that he is being raised well.

  12. reocochran says:

    I am not sure I knew you had a baby grandson. 🙂 Colleen, are you going to share his name or first initial? Anyway, happy baby boy lifting! The trust of an innocent baby is lifelong and he senses this, as he connects and bonds with you. My baby grandson turns his head, craning it to find my face to lock his eyes with mine. ♡♡ (when I arrived the other day, his sisters ran and shouted, Nana’s here!” I saw him turn on his tummy twisting to get a glimpse of me.)

  13. Jim McKeever says:

    He will remember, don’t you worry. (This reminded me of a Peanuts strip in which Charlie Brown recalled how safe and secure he felt falling asleep in the back seat of his parents’ car.)

    • Ohhhhh, that makes me feel good. To be reminded of Charlie Brown. 🙂 My friend just called me Charlie Brown the other day. ANd thank you Jim, I think maybe I needed to hear he will remember….

  14. Beautiful and he will remember!

  15. So weird that I happen to read this this morning. Last night in bed I was thinking back to a time when a friend had a baby boy. Another friend and I were marveling at him and the other woman said, “Just think, some day he is going to be a full grown man!” It was really odd to think that. It’s such a huge difference–who you are as a baby to who you are as a man. It’s a difficult thing for me to process somehow. Thank heavens for babies. They’re a lot more fun than full-grown men, well, unless you’re that man’s husband, I suppose. 🙂

  16. niaaeryn says:

    I am sure he will. Oh, so sweet the whole image. Thanks for sharing it. 🙂

  17. Ah, beautiful…brings a tear to my eye thinking about my three boys tucked in bed right now. Thanks for this reminder of something I needed to hear. The time to carry them to bed, reassure them when they wake, and stare at their innocence as they lie dreaming is now. Overtime at work will wait. ((hugs)) and thanks. Xx

  18. April says:

    I’m sure your love will shine through — even through those horrible teen years — yes, he’ll remember.

Leave a Reply

