I’ve Got The Answers

The older I get the more answers I know.  It’s great having answers.  And I’m generous with my answers.

Here are many:

Yes.

No.

Probably.

That is correct.

That is not correct.

Priceless.

Seventy-two.

One million.

Chocolate.

The year of our Lord 1604.

We did.

They did.

No one did.

Act as if it’s all poison ivy just to be safe.

Football of course.

Yes it is gross.

This way.

Not that way.

Then don’t do that.

(This is not all of my answers, just some of them.   So you get an idea.   You could Call Me Google Maybe.)

But with age does come some wisdom.  So they say.  If you’re open to it that is.  Sometimes I am.  But I’m not really old enough to be open to it all of the time.   More wisdom  might come with more age.  We’ll see.

Some of the wisdom is that the trick to having answers isn’t necessarily just in having the answers.   It’s knowing when to give them, share them, advise with them.   Knowing when they aren’t wanted.   Or needed.   Being right isn’t always wise.  Giving the answer isn’t always so smart.

Especially when people want to experience finding and developing their own answers.  Or when someone wants the easy way out, instead of learning how to learn.

There’s wisdom right there.   That wasn’t an answer, that was just a thought.

But I do have the answers.

Just because I have all of the answers….doesn’t mean I have the right one.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

44 thoughts on “I’ve Got The Answers

  1. I guess you are smart enough to know that you don’t know everything….

  2. Paul says:

    Kumquat – that is my favorite answer.

  3. I love this post!! I also love your answers haha! I tell my kids quite frequently that “I am old ok I do know some stuff” They laugh and say wow you do! It feels great to finally know things. I tell them things like, wait and be patient, things change daily etc. simple things that I have learned through being around 53 years! I also sit and realize, my mom does know everything hahah! I also love the part about not always giving those answers all the time! Love this and want to print it, post it and package it up!!! xx

  4. This post is wonderful, Colleen! Yes, we do have the answers but they might not be the right ones. LOL! Hahahaha!

  5. You seem pretty wise already. Great post.

  6. Gibber says:

    What? I’m shocked. You don’t always have the right answer?! Now where am I going to go for that?! 😉

  7. Good one! I think we’d be fast and furious friends in the flesh – the older I get the more questions I have, lol. I’m glad I found someone with some answers. 😉

  8. Chocolate is always the answer.

  9. I LOVE IT I love the wisdom that just because you have them doesn’t mean it is right to give them out. You wise bird you!

  10. You never fail to provoke a good think peppered with humor this time. 😀 😀 ❤

  11. Interesting, Colleen… the older I get the more questions I have. 🙂

  12. Having fewer questions after a while is liberating relief from seeking answers. That is not to imply soul searching is wasteful time but that the onset of acceptance is blossoming.

  13. ksbeth says:

    we know what we know and what we don’t know. and we know when to share that or not.

  14. April says:

    Great answers, Colleen.

  15. niaaeryn says:

    Well said…and too true, sometimes you have to know when not to give an answer as well. Tricky but true. 🙂

Leave a Reply

