Not The Time Of My Life

When I was a child and teenager I used to look forward to adulthood.   I yearned for adulthood.  Childhood was not the time of my life.  I was born an adult and had to suffer through childhood to get to the part of my life where I would be in control.

Control, when you don’t have it, can torment you.

I spent an inordinate amount of time looking forward, through a tunnel of time, to when I would get to be me.

Now I find myself looking back at that child, through that same tunnel, but from the other end of it.

Tunnel

Yes.

It was worth the wait.

Me.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

30 thoughts on “Not The Time Of My Life

  1. Yes, it is worth the wait even when that wait seems so very loooong! You have made a wonderful adult!

  2. Paul says:

    I suspect it may be a bit different for each of us. Honestly, although I had a happy childhood, I would never go back. At 58 i feel much more comfortable in my skin – it’s taken a lot of years but it gets stronger by the year.

    • I can relate to that. I DO feel much more comfortable. And I’m still learning more about me and how to be even more comfortable. Many parts of my childhood were happy. But even so, I knew I was ‘older’ than my years said. I’m growing in to that. 😉

  3. It’s strange how when you are young you wish to be older and when you are old you wish to be younger. You don’t seem to have that problem!

  4. interesting. I have lately done a similar look back… Has nothing to do with angst 🙂

    • Well, my look back wasn’t angst related. Just a kind of curious thing. I remember thinking so much about being “grown up”. I wonder if my ‘now’ life would mesh with those thoughts I had as a child. I’m sure that child would both be pleased, AND have questions. !!! 🙂

  5. ksbeth says:

    yes, and welcome to you.

  6. I am so glad you are here! Having control over your own mind and body!

  7. russtowne says:

    You just pretty accurately described my situation too. I love the last three lines.

  8. Mustang.Koji says:

    I’m glad you thought it worth the wait.

  9. Definitely worth the wait. Wouldn’t mind waiting it all over again. ❤

  10. I agree. Being an adult in a child’s body is torture. Then just to make it interesting, I’m doing the child in an adult’s body. Nobody suspects a thing. Ha!

  11. Val Boyko says:

    Some of us are born wise beyond our years … until we catch up with oursleves.
    Love this Colleen 💛

  12. So wise. I look at my children and how easy they have it. The worst thing in their lives is having to clean their toys up. I hope they enjoy childhood while it lasts.

  13. Heartafire says:

    I can really relate to this Chatter.

Leave a Reply

