Generations

When you can stand,

Generations deep,

In the land of your fathers.

Three Generations Return To Ireland

Explore the castles.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Admire the strongholds.

High Cross and Round Tower

Round Tower at Rock Of Cashel

When you walk the roads with your brother.

Brother and I at Giant's Causeway

And wonder about all that was before you.

Rock of Cashel

And

Place your feet where your fathers once stood.

Dun Aeonghus

And stand where your fathers Β lie…

Family Gathered at Cemetery, Inish Mor

When you breath that air.

That they once inhaled.

Dun Aeonghus and Me

And exist where the High Kings gathered.

Hill of Tara

Then plant your feet where your family tree grew.

Ireland Tree

And see where the green truly grows.

Green Fields of Ireland

When you stand here.

Inishmore and I

You find home.

Like you’ve never known.

*
*
*
*

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

I hope that everyone has a wonderful day of connecting with their own ancestry.

And if you aren’t Irish-

Or it doesn’t include Irish-

I’m sorry.

πŸ˜‰

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

42 thoughts on “Generations

  1. This was/is perfect, Colleen. I’m going this summer – taking my Mom back to her ancestral lands one more time. The photos and accompanying words are equal parts inviting and appreciated.

  2. Paul says:

    That is awesome Colleen. What a great tour of the old country.

  3. May The Road
    Rise Up To Meet You

    May the road rise up to meet you.
    May the wind be always at your back.
    May the sun shine warm upon your face;
    the rains fall soft upon your fields
    and until we meet again,
    may God hold you in the palm of His hand

    Happy St. Patrick’s Day Colleen. Beautifully told in words and pictures. I’m glad and proud my son-in-law is Irish πŸ€

  4. Ocean Bream says:

    This is pretty fantastic. Makes me half wish I was Irish! πŸ˜› My mother in law is Irish, though, and I am sure she would love to go to her homeland once again. It’s a beautiful country.

  5. Beautiful photos! Happy Saint Patrick’s Day! That must have been a fabulous trip!

  6. Wonderful, Colleen. I thought you were in Ireland. ❀
    Happy St Patrick's Day. Aren't the rest of us Irish too on this day? πŸ˜€

  7. Heartafire says:

    so beautiful, my heart sang. I am of Welsh descent, on St. Patty’s day we are all Irish! πŸ™‚

  8. What a beautiful post for this lovely St. Patrick’s day. Perfect! πŸ™‚

  9. Happy St. Patrick’s! Great pictures Colleen!

  10. tric says:

    Hope you enjoyed St Patrick’s Day.
    ‘May you be in Heaven a half an hour before the devil knows your dead’. πŸ™‚

  11. Wow love this post Colleen!

  12. Colleen, this is a wonderful post and I can completely relate! The first time I visited Ireland, I felt like I had come home. Maybe my grandparents’ experiences were passed down… genetic memories that tie us to a place?

  13. April says:

    From the photos, I can see why you love Ireland. Not only the country but where your roots come from. I can only trace back to Virginia….before that, I have no clue where my family originally came from.

    • I’ve been very lucky April. My grandparents, and aunts and uncles on both sides had information. I really appreciate it.

      And I can never get enough of Ireland. πŸ™‚

  14. Incredible. I’m Ulster Irish. I hope that still counts. The Scottish in me makes me feel rather cool. πŸ™‚

  15. niaaeryn says:

    So beautiful!!! Wish to see that someday myself.
    I love the title and the photos. The whole thing really.
    Happy St. Patrick’s day, Colleen…even though a tad belated. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

