It Was A Quiet Night

And all I remember from it, is them.

Grandmother sat on her little couch.  With her feet up on the table in front of her.

Grandfather sat in his chair.  With his feet up.

I sat with Grandmother.

Then I went to sit with Grandfather.

Then I went back to Grandmother.

Then I went back to Grandfather.

I know I was spending the night.  I don’t remember how old I was.

I don’t know if any words were spoken.  I don’t remember them.  I just remember going back and forth.  While they watched television.  And I just took comfort, by the minutes, by being with whomever I was with in that moment.

The memory is clear.  Of them.  Letting me go back and forth.

I don’t have a clue why I was there.   I don’t have a clue to what may have been going on between them in their adult world and language.  It’s not part of my memory.

Being with them and taking those small child steps, back and forth, from one to the other.

It’s just a very sweet memory to me.

There’s value in that.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

36 thoughts on “It Was A Quiet Night

  1. ksbeth says:

    from one place of comfort to another. you may have not believed your good fortune, and had to keep moving back and forth to prove it to yourself. wonderful memory.

  2. Ocean Bream says:

    That is such a comforting memory, a child taking solace in the adults around her. Thank you for sharing the warmth and comfort of your memory. It’s moments like these, I think, that we can reflect back on in our adult lives, moments that have no explanation and need no explanation, just to feel the comfort and solace of the time. Cheers! 🙂

  3. Paul says:

    Very neat memory Colleen. Sitting with adults you trust is a powerful force in a small child. I read an interesting piece by female writer who had attended Expo ’67. I took notice because I had been there with my family when I was 9. The writer was a bit younger than that, perhaps 7 or 8. She got lost and came upon a Mountie – who were policing the Expo as a Federal site. Her parents had told her that if she got separated that the Mounties would help her. The Mounties were all in their red serge dress uniforms and were very noticeable. So the Mountie took the young girl back to the security building and paged her parents to come and pick her up. While they waited she sat on the knee of one Mountie who was in turn sitting and talking with a group of his colleagues. She described the warm safe feeling that she experienced sitting comfortably on this big man whose job it was to take care of her while awaiting her parents. She linked this feeling to the beginning of the development of her sexuality.

    Cool post Colleen – safe adults are important in a child’s life.

    • I can imagine her feeling Paul. I really can. Not having any recall of why I was there (probably just spending the night for no reason) or what we may have talked about or seen on the television….the only thing I have from it is what I put here. And it is more than enough. I value this memory. And the safe adults in it. 🙂

  4. That is a sweet memory!!

  5. markbialczak says:

    That’s a sweet memory, indeed, CM. Welcoming arms and laps!

  6. Elisabet says:

    Beautiful memory, I only remembers some memories with grandparents.

  7. inmycorner says:

    How awesome that you have this snapshot. Funny how some memories come at you in still frames – at times.

  8. I’m smiling thinking of your cute little self going back and forth between them. Such a precious memory. ❤

  9. That is a precious memory. Thanks for sharing!

  10. Heartafire says:

    this is so lovely in the simplicity of these moments. I have many simple moments of being with my grandparents who partially raised me when I was a child. They are such sweet memories, I can so relate to this Colleen.

  11. russtowne says:

    And love. Lots of love. Great memory! Our grandson does that with us now. We enjoy it and are amused by how he goes back and forth. I’ll bet your grandparents felt the same way.

  12. reocochran says:

    Oh, I adore the picture in my mind of a young Colleen in such a warm and cozy place with her grandma and grandpa. The back and forth reassuring move, really touched me.

  13. niaaeryn says:

    Very sweet memory. *smiles

Leave a Reply

