The Power Of A Wish

I wish my wishes had power.

I would wish away a lot of pain.

I would wish away a lot of cruelty.

I would wish away the suffering of loss.

I would wish for comfort that was true.

I would wish for lessons that once learned, stayed.

I would wish for the ability to understand the purpose of pain.

I would wish for character of grace, courage and compassion-

I would wish that for everyone.

I would wish for the value of our lives to be valued by all lives.

I would wish for you.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

39 thoughts on “The Power Of A Wish

  1. This is awesome! I believe I would wish for the same, Colleen! What a wonderful world it would be if our wishes had power. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you Priceless. I think we do have a lot of wonder don’t we? We could use more. And I wish we all knew the power we have to make that actually happen. πŸ™‚

  2. Ocean Bream says:

    I would echo all your wishes, Colleen. Perhaps if we all wish together, hard enough, we may be able to change something πŸ™‚

  3. Paul says:

    I wish the world worked that way, so you could be granted your wishes and reduce the pain and suffering in our world.You may have noticed that certain concepts don’t always work when extrapolated. We are good people when we work to reduce the pain and suffering of others – it clearly sends a message that we value others as much as ourselves and hence move closer to all is One. That concept is ours, we own it, and it does not work when applied to non-human life. As one whose wishes would become real, you would no longer be human and that rule would no longer work. For instance, Judas was a bad guy for ratting out Jesus to the Romans. We all accept that. And yet what happened as a result of that – the Crucifixion and then Resurrection – brought a spiritual force to this world for good unlike any ever seen before. Jesus could not have died for our sins unless Judas had ratted him out – it certainly appears that this was fated, and yet we still consider it “bad”. There is a logic disconnect there.

    My point is that although it is ours to fight against pain and suffering,- pain and suffering are necessary for learning and growth. I actually think that this apparent oxymoron is a result of the dual – physical/spiritual – nature of our existence. So, we don’t want to get rid of it, we want to defeat it by satisfying the criteria that causes it to cease to exist. Helping others to see and understand that and helping them to defeat pain and suffering is the answer, rather than making pain and suffering go away. πŸ˜€

    • Interesting Paul. Truth be told, I worked this ‘piece’ a couple of times. And had included in it the loss of our lessons and humanities if we could function on wishes, because I do believe that it is all meant to work together. Suffering does teach us, compassion should grow from it. We should be to one another, all that we wish would exist.

      But then….I thought the wishes themselves were okay to express. Because, you know, they are wishes. BUT, wishes can often be realized with our own efforts.

      πŸ™‚ It’s like you had a discussion with me WHILE I was writing this.

      Thank you.

  4. You’ve a great big beautiful loving <3. Happy Weekend my friend. πŸ™‚

  5. A shooting star for you Colleen!

  6. April says:

    I wish your wishes would come true as well.

  7. inmycorner says:

    Well, when you wish upon a star… That’s what I did last night.

  8. I love this thought Colleen and have wished many times. I can’t help but wonder if granted wishes would take away our responsibility to act compassionately. ❀
    Diana xo

  9. Yet we have some of that power! It can, at times, be as simple as shifting our wishes into action. Life’s lessons and experiences often beckon wishful thinking. It’s what we take from those lessons that enable us to transform wishes. Yes/nay, Colleen?

  10. ksbeth says:

    fantastic wishes.

  11. Ann Koplow says:

    Your wishes do have power, Colleen. ❀

  12. russtowne says:

    May all these wishes come true for you and more.

  13. reocochran says:

    Wishes like yours have the power to inspire, Colleen. I wish many of the same things!

  14. niaaeryn says:

    Powerful wishes. I like them all.

Leave a Reply

