The Difference Between Us

We were sitting across from one another in a diner.

I was eating a meatball sub.   A luxurious treat to be sure.

She was eating a ham and cheese sub.

I decided over subs that I want to be the kind of person that says the kind of things she says.

We were discussing the value of life.  Her life, to be exact.  I was trying to convince her with all of my mediocre powers of persuasion that her life is her life and she can focus on herself.

She just looked at me and said “my life here is not to be centered around me, but serving others”.    Or something real close to that.  It kind of stumped me.  Because I think if she is going to be of any use to others, she must take care of herself.  But, she said, she is healthy.  She is emotionally, physically and spiritually healthy.  And she is happy.

I realized, over those subs, that I want to be the kind of person who says those things.  But I’m not.  Though I am wise enough to hear that kind of statement and want to learn from it.  From her.  And be more like the person I strive to be.

Tagged , , , , , ,
