I Don’t Hate You

As long as we differentiate on who’s lives matter by color

Or report hatred categorized by color instead of just the necessary title of hate

We will always have separation and ‘sides’.

From the president to the reporting agencies at large

Make hate and violence unacceptable.

Don’t exclude my horror and empathy

Because of my color.

I will never accept violence as an appropriate behavior

To disagreement or lack of understanding.

We are killing one another.

Why is that acceptable, tolerated, or excused?

My color

Is not a precursor to my disposition on values, ethics and morals.

I don’t hate you.

Or you.

Or you.

I am horrified at the inhumanity inflicted on any human being.

I’m ashamed of what we as humans are capable of.

But I have hope

In what we as humans are worthy of.

Tagged , , ,

23 thoughts on “I Don’t Hate You

  1. This is excellent Colleen. It’s a tragedy what is going on in the US. All lives matter.

  2. ksbeth says:

    and hope is what keeps us going, in spite of all the despair –

  3. taylormitch says:

    I hope and pray that we can ALL start getting along, while also respecting our differences and opinions.

  4. Paul says:

    Indeed Colleen. I too have no hatred or prejudice as far as I can tell. I often do not even notice skin color when speaking to others. In a way, I feel embarrassed for being white sometimes – given the hatred being shown by some whites towards people of color. I have noticed that some blacks look at me with apprehension when I approach – I just stay positive and cheerful (assuming that is appropriate of course).

    • There is hate emanating from ‘all’ ‘colors’ Paul. I don’t think it’s a good idea for any one person to feel shame in their ‘color’. I don’t support or agree with any “white” person espousing hate. But, being human, I don’t have to limit that to a color. As a human being I do not agree with anyone espousing hate. We need to all take ‘color’ out of the equation. Without color, people would still find a reason to hate, to blame, and to judge.

  5. Yes we must have hope xxx

  6. niaaeryn says:

    Well said. Wish I had more but kind of a jarring day.

  7. viveka says:

    I couldn’t agree more!!! So well said, Colleen.

  8. reocochran says:

    I meet so many bigots in a day, Colleen. Not just at my warehouse, not just in inner city Columbus or in Cleveland suburbs.
    I understand how people of different ethnicities feel. My Filipino friends, my friend from Cameroon, my grandson 1/4 black whose Dad has often been made to spread his legs by cops, because his black hair and olive skin causes people to think he is a Terrorist (Micah was asked by a “joking” parent, Hey, is your Daddy a drug dealer? Another cub scout leader said that his Daddy could teach the group how it felt to be “different.”)
    It was told to me by my own Dad, “Look in the mirror and already you have a head start in this world.”
    I am proud that one of his good friends was Jewish, another born in India and another showed up at Mom’s senior living apartment building as one of three black men who live here. I made sure to go around and introduce Lou as a NASA engineer who worked with my Dad. He taught my brother how to play high school tennis and took my first wedding pictures. When I saw Lou across the dining room sitting by himself, I asked Mom if he sat with others. She said she noticed a few people get up and change tables. So, just in case anyone thinks Cleveland in the suburbs wouldn’t conceal bigots, think again!

    • Very poignant Robin. It is alive in many places, sadly, and horribly. But I do believe there are many places, and hearts, where it does not reside. Like yours.

      • reocochran says:

        I appreciate your listening but as I thought about it, I do see your intent and it is okay to edit my lengthy worries and concerns since I am like you, I do have hope to all become a cohesive country full of hope.
        My dash of reality isn’t needed here.if you wish, please delete. . . ❤

Leave a Reply

