The End Of The Ride

Sometimes when I’m on a bike ride I find myself slowing down towards the end.  Because when I’m done…I won’t be bike riding.  I’ll be – not – bike riding.  So I find myself trying to prolong it.  I sit up and my bike suddenly becomes a tool to find leisure and be passive.  For a moment.

Then, because I’m trying to prolong my bike ride and slowing down, someone passes me.

And I cannot……

Let.That.Happen.

So I speed up.

Because I don’t want to feel like I slowed down.

Sure.

There are many, many parallels we can associate with this.

But for today, right now, I want to believe as long as possible that I am able.   I discover(ed) so much while building my bike riding skills.   My muscles, my heart, my lungs….my desire to power myself down the road.

I want to know the ride

Is still mightily possible

And within my power.

And doesn’t have to end.

And no one can beat me.

Bicyclist

You may pass me

But I’m not done yet.

32 thoughts on “The End Of The Ride

  1. Good thing you’re on a bike and not in a car . Ha, ha!

  2. ninaabraham says:

    I love it. The only thing is that I am terrified of biking. . .

  3. lorigreer says:

    Interesting viewpoint…I often slow down doing things I like because I don’t want to give up the enjoyment.

    • Exactly. It’s how I feel. Then I get an urge to power up again because of the love for it. And sometimes the others who are out enjoying the same thing….their energy is contagious.

  4. Aishwarya says:

    Ah what strength!! I’m so much like you in this 🙂 I strive to be the best…in everything I do..especially my yoga. I want to do everything my body can do..and push it more to achieve the impossible as well 🙂

  5. Paul says:

    You’re letting others dictate your actions. I’ve seen this before on the highway, and it never ends well. Have you sent your frontal lobe on vacation?

    • Ha! 😉 Not the same thing at all Paul. 🙂 It’s not a reaction to THEM it’s like a renewed energy passing by and setting me on fire. I just love the feeling of the power I have on the bike. Not just physical power but health and emotional strength. It’s a very VERY long story. But biking is part of a long journey for me. And a very positive one at that. 🙂

  6. Ocean Bream says:

    Too well I know this feeling, of not allowing anybody to pass you! You describe your experiences so well, Colleen, I almost feel like I am cycling with you.

  7. bikebrown says:

    You’re a long way from done.

  8. taylormitch says:

    I like to take advantage of every one of those opportunities that allows me to slow down. Life is to short!

  9. I agree – sloooowww down and enjoy the view! 🙂

  10. Made me laugh. Reminds me of when I’m eating something I enjoy and find that I’m eating too fast and it’ll be done too soon BUT it’s hard to slow down, lol. 🙂 But slow down and enjoy the view is a great way to live.

  11. ksbeth says:

    i love the ending of this one –

  12. reocochran says:

    Great words, especially for different people in different places on their Ride of their life, Colleen. ❤

Leave a Reply

