What Her Mama Said

She was talking to me about someone she cares for deeply.  Someone who can’t fix her own troubles.

And someone who won’t let anyone else help her with her troubles.

She shook her said and said “I love people.   My mama taught me to love them.  Just love the people.  And so I do.”  

And she cried because she couldn’t help this people.

I was moved by what her mama told her decades ago that she lives by still.  I was moved by her faith in her mama’s words.  I was sure her mama would be proud.  I sat there listening, wishing to be that good.

Her mama’s words.

 

Tagged , , , , ,

27 thoughts on “What Her Mama Said

  1. Aishwarya says:

    What a wonderful post this is! It brought a huge smile to my face. It’s the first thing I’m reading today and I’m extremely glad it is this way 🙂

  2. Paul says:

    Beautiful Colleen.

  3. tric says:

    Life is simple. Pity we complicate it.

  4. How sweet! “Just love the people, so I do.”

  5. That’s so lovely and shows the powerful impact of words. Children listen. ❤

  6. Yes, I’m sure she would be proud.

  7. mewhoami says:

    Great advice from mama. Something we should all do.

  8. reocochran says:

    Open arms and open hearts, mother’s and father’s, sisters and brothers, just love those people! Great wisdom shared by a good woman. ❤

  9. Simple truth. If only more followed that simple plan of life.

Leave a Reply

