The Crossing Guard

This morning a wee bit of a child helped me cross the street in front of her school.  She was the crossing guard.  She seemed all of three foot tall.  She wore a checkered uniform and neon green crossing guard safety belt.   I stopped at the corner, behind her little flag she held so diligently to protect me.

 I had a flash back to my own checkered uniform, an orange crossing guard safety belt, and standing at attention in front of my own school.

In all seriousness I felt very protected as she wielded that flag with all of the authority bestowed upon her.  Her duties included preventing me from prematurely stepping out in to the street and being hit by a vehicle.  When the light turned red she opened the flag to me, but held it against any driver to prevent them from crossing that line and endangering me.   As I stepped off of the curb, I genuinely thanked her.  She very professionally, and softly, said “you’re welcome”.   I marveled at her ability to be so cautious and serious about my well being, and her duties.

I crossed the street and as I stepped up onto the curb I thanked the little fellow who held the flag out on that side of the road.  He did not hesitate to pull that flag closed behind me.   Another safe transition completed.  He granted the cars in wait permission to proceed.

I was taught responsibility as a very young child.  And I benefitted all of my life because of it.  I’d like to think the world did as well.  I felt honored to be protected by this little guard today.  The nostalgia of it, and the appreciation of it, made me happy.  Seeing the children being responsible and cautious and courteous and safe, made me see the world in a beautiful light today.

Carry on Crossing Guard.

The Crossing  Guard

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

47 thoughts on “The Crossing Guard

  1. russtowne says:

    The world is a nicer place with such people in it. May they–and you–live, long healthy lives while bringing smiles to others.

  2. Aishwarya says:

    That’s such an endearing account! These kids are definitely going to be the better things about the future that seems not-so-bright as of today!

    • It was so adorable. Later in the day someone mentioned to me they saw me at the crosswalk and thought how cute it was. I had already written this post on post its at lunch. 🙂

  3. Such a positive start at the day, Colleen 🙂
    I wish, that all kids were taught responsibility from early childhood. This would give a much better world.
    Many parents are protecting their kids against all and forget that they need to teach responsibility as a part of raising the kids.

  4. ksbeth says:

    it is a beautiful thing to see, isn’t it?

  5. Bernadette says:

    What a sweet story. I still have a smile on my face.

  6. Wonderful story, Colleen! It is a beautiful thing to have crossing guards to keep us safe and our children safe as we cross the street!

  7. I hope everyone can see her, like the cars, I mean.

  8. April says:

    This brings back memories for me, only I was petrified I would do something wrong. I proved myself wrong and all pedestrians were safe. 🙂

  9. goldenbrodie says:

    I’m so happy as a result of reading your post and noting your sweet drawing.

  10. Anonymous says:

    I was one, and no task since then has had more importance and few, more satisfaction.😐

  11. Val Boyko says:

    And so I have a different take here. What if I was that very caring and responsible young child who was granted a gift of adult responsibility and ensuring safety for all. At that young age, it might have ignited in me a sense of responsibility for others that was beyond a normal expectation. I believed that what I did kept people safe. This would be my job for the rest of my life – trying to keep others from harm.
    Looking back I can see that although it encouraged confidence and growth in my young abilities, it created a belief that I was responsible for others well being. Only I could keep them safe. And if I wasn’t there, they would come to harm..
    I didn’t mind at all. Until I grew up and realized that I had lost myself in the well being of others.
    We didn’t have crossing guards at my school, but I am SO sure that I would have been the very best…. And now I see the consequences 💛
    xo

    • Thank you for commenting Val. But I will say I don’t think this is happening with these young folks. They are at a cross walk with a signal (that they use) and adults with them. They aren’t alone. I just found it wonderful that they didn’t want to just help the kids cross, but the big people too. They didn’t ignore me or just act like I wasn’t important to them. 🙂

  12. Ahh the future is in good hands then Colleen. 🙂 ❤
    Diana xo

  13. Debra says:

    How nice! I’ve never seen a student performing this task! A crossing guard is such an important task and I like the idea of instilling responsibility in this way. It still must have felt a little unusual to be guided and protected by a child. Good role reversals for everyone!

  14. reocochran says:

    I remember as a child listening so carefully to the child crossing guard, Colleen. I also remember my own children listening and following the directions given. None of us was a crossing guard. We somehow missed the meeting, if it were a volunteer choice. I loved this drawing, how you showed the importance and meaning behind the flag of Responsibility.

  15. Paul says:

    Perfect Colleen.

Leave a Reply

