Take Care Of It

I was always taught to take care of what I have.

No matter what it cost to get, or if it was given to me, or if I made it, or found it.  If I have it, it’s worth taking care of.

Whether it’s material and can be held in my hands.

Or something I hold in my heart.

Take care of it.

If I have it – I have a responsibility to care of it.

If I don’t take care of it, I shouldn’t expect someone else to do it for me.

And I certainly should not expect someone else to replace it.

Simple lesson.

Take care of it.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

18 thoughts on “Take Care Of It

  1. russtowne says:

    A good way to live. Relationships most of all.

  2. I was taught the same Colleen and this have helped me many times in my life 🙂

  3. Paul says:

    Grace, for sure. Thankfulness for what we have. Absolutely Colleen. 🙂

    • 🙂 It’s the best way Paul. 🙂

      (How are you feeling today?)

      • Paul says:

        Good actually Colleen. I had a perfect dialysis treatment last night and I think we hit my ideal fluid balance right on the nose. It fluctuates 10 or 12 kilos one way or the other so nailing it is like hitting a moving target – not easy but when it works it is an amazing outcome. I feel energetic with a good appetite and even a taste for healthier foods (had a ham/cheese/ tomato/green pepper/ greens salad for breakfast). Nailing it once makes following it much easier from there. It will get out of control after a surgical procedure because they will use other requirements to determine fluid levels (i.e. saline drip after an operation to reduce infection). They make sure their actions don’t make it dangerous for me but they are fixated n getting me well knowing we can address the other issues later. So, that is good. I had the stitches in my back removed last night and it is healing well where they had chest tubes and where they went in to fix the tear that killed me. The long incisions in my arm are healing well and I have to get the staples (about 30 ) out this week. They are itchy but that is a sign of healing – no redness or swelling – and i’m not even on antibiotics. My energy levels are returning – still more tired at the end of the day than normal but that is improving. I’m sleeping at least as well as before if not a bit better.

        So all in all it is going well. My post on what happened was generally well received – I was concerned when I wrote it that it may have turned some people off with the medical focus. As Trent in his usual honesty said he didn’t like it but it was well written, then I figured I had hit the balance between human interest and and accurate description.

        Thanks so much for the question – ha! – I bet you weren’t expecting such a detailed answer.

  4. So very wise! So very true.

  5. April says:

    Thank you for the reminder. Sometimes I focus on what’s not right and neglect what is right.

  6. Oh my goodness.. from a very young age indeed. My kids forget that lesson so often. They have much more than I ever had and reminding them to take care of each other, and their material blessings is such a tall order. It was never the case with us, we had little, we took care of it. Simple.

Leave a Reply

