He Called Me Darlin’

I went in for a coffee and sandwich.

It was busy considering the actual lunch hour had passed.

People were looking stressed behind the counter.  And others on my side of the counter were rolling their eyes.

I placed my order and stepped to the far end waiting for my sandwich.  There were numerous order takers but appeared to be only one order maker.  He made a few sandwiches before getting to mine.   I played with my phone and tried to look unbothered by the angst on my side of the counter.

Then I heard it.   Quiet.  So as not to be heard.   I leaned in and said to the tall, young man making all of the orders, “are you singing?”

He said yes, it’s how he stays “easy”.

I smiled and said “that makes me happy.  I think more people should sing.”

He said “it would help”.

I waited a few more minutes and he handed me my sandwich and said “here you go darlin’, sorry about the wait”.

I told him I wasn’t.

 

Tagged , , , , ,

31 thoughts on “He Called Me Darlin’

  1. russtowne says:

    Thank you for the smile-inducing reminder, Colleen. You probably helped to make his day even brighter.

  2. Jing Sebastian says:

    So sweet! When I sing while feeding the cats, my children would whisper, “Momie is in love.” He may be! 😄💕

  3. ksbeth says:

    nice! ) i sing all day long in my classroom and i always have with my own kids. no one cares that i’m not a good singer, it’s more the spirit of it )

  4. April says:

    I can tell you’re still smiling. 🙂

  5. Heartafire says:

    I love to be called Darlin. It’s such a sweet southern gesture. Some think it rude or chauvinistic. Not me.

  6. That’s my favorite term of endearment. I call my kids, grandkids and others darlin. This is post is so sweet!

  7. goldenbrodie says:

    But yes you are 🙂 love this…

  8. mewhoami says:

    What a positive outlook he has. He’s completely right. In the midst of commotion and stress, there is no need to join the crowd. Just sing. Be happy. Stay ‘easy’.

  9. Ocean Bream says:

    Awww, my goodness, what a lovely little moment like that to breeze through a tough day. There are inspiring people everywhere, especially in the back of sandwich shops 🙂

  10. duncanr says:

    nice meeting!

    too many folk in a rush these days – would be a lot nicer world if more folk slowed down and took the time to sing

  11. 100% sheer awesomeness. Ah, the love of great humanity. Here’s one you’ll appreciate. There was a nice little dresser at the end of our street. The hubs and I went to retrieve it, but we soon discovered we couldn’t fit it in our car, trunk, backseats, anywhere. The trunk was open, back door open, and us standing there on the sidewalk scratching our heads. A pick-up truck came down the road. I looked at it, wishing it would stop and lend us a hand that we clearly needed. It passed. I said to hubs, I wish that pick-up would’ve helped us, but then, the driver has no idea where we live. Hubs said, well, the pick-up pulled off the road right over there. I turned to look. Sure enough, he had pulled over across the street and down a ways and appeared to just be waiting. I didn’t know why until I turned back to see the owner of the house the dresser was in front of come out and say, “Where do you live?” “Just up the street,” I told him. “Let’s toss it in my truck,” he said. I didn’t even notice the truck in his driveway. When I closed up the car and left Hubs to load the dresser into the man’s truck with him, I drove home and saw that the first pick-up had turned up another street, heading home apparently after seeing that all was well. It made me quite happy–the kindness that he had stopped and checked on us, in a way, before heading off again. And of course, the kindness of man who helped us bring his son’s trusty old dresser home.

    • I love this story. 🙂 So many times we need help, or have an opportunity to help, or make a difference, and we miss it. This young man had every reason to be frustrated but he saw no reason for it. 🙂 And in doing so, he made a difference too. And you had 2 helpers 🙂

  12. Debra says:

    He is one in a million! What a beautiful way to de-escalate the anxiety for both sides of the counter! 🙂

Leave a Reply

