If I Know This Much….

I was walking past a school today

They had their windows open.

And

From above my head

I heard the teacher talking

Louder

Than the gentle roar of jabbering children.

And the teacher asked

“Why are you all talking?!”

Immediately I thought

Because we have something to say!

I chuckled at my ever so quick wit

And wanted so badly to yell that out as I kept walking.

It would have made the kids laugh.

And the teacher cringe.

It would have been disrespectful

And simply,

Rude.

So I bid my thoughts silent.

Because

Sometimes

You just don’t say what’s in your head.

Because it doesn’t serve a good purpose.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

31 thoughts on “If I Know This Much….

  1. Hahaha! I imagine the temptation was great!

  2. russtowne says:

    I’ve had similar temptations. There have also been times when if I spoke what was on my mind to the wrong people I would most likely have been pounded into a pulp on the pavement, so a little restraint can also offer self-preservation. ;-D!

  3. Hahaha. Sometimes I forget myself. o_O Sometimes, it’s best to hang on to the temptation; sometimes it s.n.e.a.k.s. out. 😀 😀

  4. Jim McKeever says:

    But thought bubbles are wonderful sometimes ….!

  5. bikebrown says:

    Kids would have loved it, and so would the teacher.

  6. A lesson for all. Good to have a filter that prevents unnecessary opinions from passing our lips. Still working on this one myself. Happy weekend Colleen 🙂

    • Those filters are crucial! I think with all of our social media tools we are beginning to lose our filters. It’s a great tool to have!

      Having a wonderful weekend here. Hope your’s is going well. It should be sun going down for you right about now. 🙂

  7. ksbeth says:

    i think you were exactly right!

  8. haha I would have said it! ❤
    Diana xo

  9. Debra says:

    I think more often I ought to ask myself if what I’m saying really adds to anyone listening. 🙂 You got a good laugh at the time and that’s worth something!

  10. A good life lesson for me to remember. I often have to slow down and think. Tom has such a quick wit [and I see parts of it returning from time to time and I love every minute of it]. For years I’ve seen myself starting to at least keep up with him a little at a time. The downfall of a quick wit is it can be hurtful if you don’t think about what you are saying and temper you words. Tom’s naturally witty and it comes natural with charm — I’m the one that has to do the thinking to not be hurtful. Great post, as always. Sheri

    • Thank you Sheri.

      I am not naturally quick witted either. But I am surrounded by naturally, and fast, witted people. Always have been. Fortunately I’ve long recognized quick wit. But it isn’t something you can be trained in!!!!! So I falter a bit times as well. 😉

  11. mewhoami says:

    Contrary to what those who closest to me may think, I bite my tongue a lot. However, most times if I have a question or am curious about something, I ask. Why wonder about something when you can simply ask and be done with it? Of course, wisdom should be practiced.

  12. rugby843 says:

    I have that problem, speaking before my brains engaged!

  13. tric says:

    You showed great resolve. I’m not sure I’d be as strong. 😄

  14. It’s so difficult to let a good witticism go. At least you got to share it here, so not a total loss!

Leave a Reply

