Not Exactly Like This

Skydeck.

You step out over the world.

On a piece of glass.

103 stories above the earth.

Technically

I did it.

It did not resemble ANYTHING like this.

I have a horrific fear of heights.

I was sweating.

Light headed.

And shaking.

I was fine as I stood within the building

Looking out.

The view is magnificent.

I turned and faced the crowd of people behind me

Waiting for their turn.

I stepped backwards with one foot.

And stood above the earth.

Ten different hands from strangers reached for my camera

To take my picture.

But

The picture below

Is the one I like I best.

I felt

Like this picture

Looks

To me.

Sky Deck

Evening was falling.

But I didn’t.

πŸ™‚

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

21 thoughts on “Not Exactly Like This

  1. Well done! I’m not scared of heights, but some can scare me a little..

  2. tric says:

    Yikes. Well done. Great you can write it and draw it!

  3. ksbeth says:

    there is no way i would ever be able to do this. you are powerful.

  4. How exciting!! Glad you didn’t fall!

  5. Um…did you bungie jump off the Stratosphere???

  6. U R brave. Me? Not sure I’d go up there. πŸ˜‰

  7. cindy says:

    too bad I missed it…heheheheheh!!! Nice rendition of the event!

  8. April says:

    It feels good to face your fears. Nice job. πŸ™‚

  9. Love this! And yes, sometimes a doodle says it better. Good job!!

  10. Isn’t the mind a fascinating blob? We are happy to stand against a wall that has a sheer drop on the other side of it, but take the wall away and most of us will not go within several feet of it!

    • Oh Peter, that is my truth any way. I could NOT make myself step forward, or look down. I had to turn around, step backwards looking up!!!! And that only lasted a mere few seconds. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

