Heart Receiving

I told my friend the other day of how lucky I am to have so many kindnesses extended to me as of late.  I listed some of them, including her having bought me a coffee.  She said she “only” brought me a coffee.  She needs to know how much I value that thought, that action.

The size of a kindness

Is measured by the heart receiving.

Not in comparison to other kind acts

But only

In the size of the thought of a kindness

And the feeling received.

I am humbled by the thought

And giving

Of another.

Tagged , , , , ,

26 thoughts on “Heart Receiving

  1. Right on! A smile or pat on the back does it for me. The warmth of connecting with another changes the world. ❤

  2. April says:

    Many overlook the small bits of giving and receiving. What a great way to be thankful. 🙂 Did any of that make sense?

  3. Coffee is big! I remember when I worked at Macy’s and the girls would all go for coffee and sometimes I wasn’t offered any. It wasn’t a nice feeling…even if I don’t drink coffee…nice to be asked and thought of.

  4. So true! The “size of the kindness is measured by the heart receiving it.”

  5. It is nice to know you are appreciated with kind words. :o)

  6. mewhoami says:

    Exactly, it’s the small things in life that mean the most.

  7. It’s always the little things that count the most. Sigh. Youre a lucky woman to have kindess extended to you. Makes me smile. ❤ ❤ ❤

  8. I know the feeling. Especially when that coffee can seem like gold.

  9. reocochran says:

    Spontaneous acts of giving (or kindness) warm my heart, Colleen. Children have this whole thing “down pat.” A flower, leaf or picture they drew are extra special when offered with a little shyness displayed. Aw, shucks, you just gave ME a gift in this post!

  10. Beautiful thoughts and beautifully expressed. I’m glad I happened upon your site!

Leave a Reply

