I Drove Back

I took the road.

That road I haven’t traveled in many years.

And it took me back forty years.  I was afraid the road would seem smaller, the houses unfamiliar, and the area foreign.  It wasn’t.  It was more native to me than I had hoped.  I knew when the road would curve, and go up, and I knew that farm, I knew when the road would split and which way to go.  There was nothing that surprised me.

I felt guided, back.

I pulled up to the house.  And there, standing in the doorway, was my friend from back before we grew up.  And there, inside the door, was “Grandma Marie”.   She didn’t look a day older than all of those days so long ago.  But she is older.  Forty years older.  She’s in her nineties.

I asked her if she remembered me and she said yes, my face is the same.  My friend and I both laughed when she said “but you’ve gotten bigger”.  I’m still laughing about that.

It felt so good.  Being able to go back in time.  People say you can’t do it.  But I did it today.

Back to a time when sitting around and talking was how you got your news and your gossip and your stories that made you laugh, made you sad, or made you raise your eye brows.

It was nice to sit with people who knew you before you became you.  We knew one another long before today was even considered.  Isn’t there that certain comfort, with certain people, that never changes.  And going back to them, takes you to a time that does still exist, in your emotions.

It felt so good being there.   With those people.   In that time.   That time that combines yesterdays and memories and sharing it today.

When I drove away I could feel the years adding up the further I drove, from days gone by, until I reached today’s reality.

It made me kind of sad.

Tagged , , , , , ,

32 thoughts on “I Drove Back

  1. Bernadette says:

    Interesting thought…. You before you.

  2. ksbeth says:

    it is always bittersweet to revisit old places that played such a role in our lives

  3. So sweet! Going back in time to a time that was more simple is wonderful!

  4. April says:

    This made me smile. Very beautiful emotions. I could see you sitting around the table laughing and sharing stories.

  5. Nice to be able to go back, even for a short time. I’m sure it made “Grandma Marie’s” day. I hope your visit triggers more good memories.

  6. You put it exactly right when you say how great it is to have people who knew you before, and where nothing changes.

  7. Awww. Visits with old friends are special. Glad you had this opportunity.<3 ❤ ❤

  8. Love this one. They say you can’t go home again….but, I do it all the time. And it’s a good thing. ☺

  9. Amanda bays says:

    Omg… cried my eyes out. That was AWESOME!!!! I just read this to Grandma Marie, she loved it. Thank u for making her day as well as mine.

  10. When I was in NY this summer, some friends drove me back to my old house and neighborhood. It was kind of a more deja vu kind of feeling than the familiarity your experienced because things were the same but different. Interesting in any case.

  11. tarafaherty says:

    Wish I could have joined you

  12. Bittersweet experience for sure.

  13. reocochran says:

    I think this sounds like one of the best days of your life. Confirmation of memories, love and friendship over forty years but like yesterday’s emotional connection “coloring it all” in a pleasant glow. Wonderful, Colleen.

Leave a Reply

