Chocolate Milk Lessons

I told her that listening to other people and how they feel about something or someone should not be a determination on how she feels about something.

She wasn’t sure what I meant.

I handed her her chocolate milk.

I told her that if I did not like chocolate milk, and I told her that, and as a result she never tried chocolate milk, she would have lost out on knowing how much she likes chocolate milk.

That, she decided, was not very smart at all.

I told her it’s like people.  If I, or others in her life, tell her they don’t like someone, and as a result, she never gets to know them, she might lose out on getting to know someone she may have really enjoyed having in her life.

That, she decided, was not something she would want to do.

I caught myself being wise today.

Doesn’t happen often.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

27 thoughts on “Chocolate Milk Lessons

  1. very wise, advice I need 😉

  2. Ilakkiyaa says:

    Omg. So simple and yet the best advice!

  3. Ilakkiyaa says:

    I wish there was an option for multiple likes to show how much I loved it 😀

  4. What??? Never try chocolate milk??

  5. GP Cox says:

    We all have a little bit of philosopher in us, but I find you have far more than I!! Good post, Colleen!

  6. ksbeth says:

    very wise and great improv with the chocolate milk –

  7. Yes, my friend you caught yourself being very wise. That’s a great way to help someone open their heart/mind. ❤

  8. Those wise remarks will stay with her and come to the forefront of her mind when needed. It works. Keep up the good work mom. :o)

  9. Val Boyko says:

    Nice catch. 💛

  10. reocochran says:

    Oh, Colleen! This could be a title for your next book. . . Just expand your mind embracing “chocolate milk lessons” across all sorts of topics! Your wisdom really resonated with me, Colleen. 🙂

  11. What wisdom we have inside us. Thank you for letting this bit out!

Leave a Reply

