But I’m A Girl

I’m comfortable with how I look.

I look like my dad.

And my brothers.

But I’m a girl.

I promise, and assure you, I’m a girl.

I sat across from a seven year old girl last night.   She and I were having a wonderful conversation.  At one point I told her she looks just like her mother.   She tapped her mother out of a different conversation and said “he said I look like you”.   Mother tells her “she’s a she”.

Seven Year Old Girl, imagine slow motion video clip right here, turns her head to me.  Expands her eye balls and exclaims “ARE YOU SERIOUS?!?!?!?”

I told her I was.

Very serious.

But I'm A Girl

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

32 thoughts on “But I’m A Girl

  1. Children are so innocent and always express their true feelings but it never with malice. I one time had a little girl tell me my son was so nice. She was talking about my husband. It took me a few days to get over that one. :o)

    • Hahahahahahahahahahaha! I love that story (but feel your pain!)

      Kids ARE amazing. I told my mom about it this morning and she asked what I said. I told her I started laughing, I’ve been accused of looking like a boy/man my entire life. I can’t be upset her little eyes saw what many others did. My poor husband though…..

  2. Heartafire says:

    From the mouths of babes…so funny!

  3. Anonymous says:

    You’re a bigger girly girl than me…..except for the makeup part! Love ya GIRL!

  4. Oh, my. I might have laughed out loud. Maybe. o_O 😀

  5. ksbeth says:

    i love children for this reason .they ask us to explain and don’t judge, just are curious and want to understand.

    • Exactly. She wasn’t being judgmental, and only expressed what she ‘saw’. It was so funny. Her expression and exclamation. Priceless. 🙂

      • ksbeth says:

        i had a little girl in my room last year, and am still friends with her, who reminded me of scout in ‘to kill a mockingbird’. she was a fun, smart, daredevil tomboy who chose her own casual clothes and played hockey. every so often another child would ask her if she was a girl or a boy. she would say, ‘i’m a girl who likes to do things that boys usually do.’ they would say okay and go back to playing. they were just trying to make sense of things and find order in the world. never mean, just curious and i thought she was confident enough in who she was to handle it perfectly.

  6. Kids sure say the most interetsing things!!!

  7. Can’t judge a book by its cover. Beautiful inside and out either way.

  8. Great read! You remind me of how I feel about such supposed issues…

    When I hear someone say something wrapped in racial, religious, sexual or spiritual bigotry, I think ( I can only speak for myself)… Like it or not, God made all of us. Black, white, red, yellow, brown, or whatever… if someone wants to put down, make fun of or make NO effort to understand something God created, go ahead. I want no part of that.

    • Thank you No Ulterior Motive, I did appreciate the innocence of this child. 🙂 She was absolutely fine with me not fitting into what she perceived ‘girls’ should look like. She was just surprised, and free to express that without being made to feel bad.

  9. Love this. What a pity she has to lose that innocence!

  10. Haha the cutest and the funniest! It’s so great I came across this ❤

  11. crowdedmind says:

    I found you, by accident, I love your voice, so will not lose you,

Leave a Reply

