Stop Hating On Santa

I told my children about Santa.

I told them he was kind and generous.

I allowed them to believe in the story,

Because I believed in the idea of him.

It does not make me a liar.

It makes me a parent who allowed my children

To believe in magic, hope, anticipation and childhood.

It means I loved the idea of generosity, sharing, and giving.

I believe in telling stories that highlight character and humanity.

Stories are told to teach, to guide, to give hope.

This story

Allows us to suspend reality while we travel in the creativity of goodness.

Stop calling me a liar

For believing in Santa Claus

And allowing my children to be full of wonder and light and love.

I’m grateful that the kindness of Santa is something that

Takes hold and lives in the hearts and imaginations of children.

~

I have read one too many reports and seen one too many videos of people saying they will never tell their children the “lie” of Santa Claus.   It’s every parent’s right to teach what they want.  But don’t call me a liar because I allowed my children to believe in Santa Claus.  Better yet, to learn from having believed in him as a child,  to becoming grown ups who believe in the idea of him. Grown ups who live kindly in the shadow of having believed as a child.  I don’t care if others choose to not tell the story or don’t allow their children this belief. But I do not appreciate the negative connotation implied when “lie” is uttered in these statements.

Tagged , , , , , ,

31 thoughts on “Stop Hating On Santa

  1. Anonymous says:

    What???? You mean…….noooooooool!

  2. I agree with you! I wanted my children to believe in Santa Claus too for the same reason. They have not been harmed whatsoever by believing in Santa. In fact, along with their mother, they still believe in magic. 😀

  3. Heartafire says:

    Thanks Chatter! I believed in Santa and it didn’t turn out so bad!

  4. How hurtful. Some people just don’t have a filter 😦

  5. ksbeth says:

    i so agree with you on this and love all the love he represents. i still believe…

  6. mewhoami says:

    I agree with you. Although technically it is a lie, I never recall thinking of my mother as a liar. Her ‘lie’ made my Christmas fun and magical. It even made the day I found out the truth, a hilarious day that still brings a smile to my face. I see no harm in it. No one should try to force their beliefs on someone else and it is certainly not their place to go above the parents and reveal the truth, as I saw in one video… “You’re mom is lying to you!”

  7. How terrible! We’ve just got to have magic in our lives, including the tooth fairy, Santa and elves.

  8. Santa is magic and i still believe in the magic of Christmas. Its nice that we have combined Christmas and Hanukkah this year. Enjoy your family and friends. The treasure of Christmas is the sharing of ourselves and enjoying other’s company. Good will towards all.

  9. Ocean Bream says:

    Oh Colleen, while I wouldn’t personally make kids believe in Santa (mainly to do with not really doing Christmas) I do believe in letting them have some childhood magic! For example when my littlest brother was around 5 years old I told him the whole Lord of the Rings story until he loved it to pieces and then let him watch the movies, before I told him it was all real. He believed it with all his heart. He really did think Aragorn was out there somewhere doing cool things with his kingly sword. One day he spent two hours telling my dad the whole story and then at the end he said, ‘Is it real?’ and my dad told him no because my dad didn’t see the stars in his huge eyes and the little boy was heartbroken. But while he believed it was real, he was so animated and enamoured. And to see a kid so enamoured with his imagination is something so so special. And if a child believes Christmas is magic, then that must be a wonderful and magical thing to look forward to and experience, and all children should experience something so exciting like that. I love this post so much Colleen, and I wish you the very best and happiest Christmas and a beautiful new year too 🙂

  10. April says:

    I read a wonderful story about how a mom dealt with avoiding the “lie”. When her oldest started doubting she took him out for cocoa and in a “secretive” way she explained why there were Santas around the malls and such. She explained that Santa represented the joy of giving and that he was old enough to become a Santa himself. She asked him to find one person, find out what that person wanted/needed and secretly give them the present. The child searched and searched. He noticed a lady on their street who walked to the mailbox each morning in her bare feet. She needed slippers. So he chose some slippers, wrapped them and secretly slid them under her fence. The next day on the way to school he saw the lady wearing the slippers. He was so happy. When the younger one became old enough, they let him in on the secret. Therefore, Santa wasn’t really a “lie”. I wish I had known to do that when my kids were young but they didn’t grow up to believe we were liars. They received the gift of magic.

    • That is a brilliant story April. I do understand people not wanting to tell something they don’t believe in, but I don’t think it makes the rest of us ‘liars’. I’m just stunned these days at the awful way people are turning things around. It’s just sad.

Leave a Reply

