Baggage Claim

You Can't Carry ItWe all pack our things differently.  We might be tidy and conservative, using the same method always for folding and organizing.  Keeping as much order as possible.  Or we might just ball everything up with no concern about what is packed where.

Some of us may never unpack, choosing to keep stuffing stuff in there.  Some of us may unpack slowly.   Some of us may even let others help us unpack.  Some may carry as little as possible.  Some might not even remember what they’ve packed.

We’ve all had lost baggage, too much baggage, strained muscles from carrying our baggage.  And days when we felt better for having put, at least some of it, down.

But none of us, can pack for someone else.

You don’t know what’s in someone else’s baggage.  Don’t assume you can lift it, carry it, or would know what to do with it if you opened it up.

 

 

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

34 thoughts on “Baggage Claim

  1. Love this metaphor and how you have unpacked it in this post Colleen! ❤
    Diana xo

  2. ksbeth says:

    yes, a very good reminder –

  3. goldenbrodie says:

    Much to be gained by unpacking on a regular basis.

  4. I.n.d.e.e.d. I can’t imagine packing for someone else and unpack as soon as I arrive back home even if I don’t get to laundry till the next day. Everything come OUT.

  5. Oh yes, everyone can keep their baggage to themselves!

  6. Ocean Bream says:

    I love the message Colleen. I do my husband’s packing, because if I don’t he will generally forget things. Mostly he is very good at packing, but I like to pack for him sometimes to show I care. Sometimes he packs for me too. But it is always good to unpack, or to try to at least. And it is even better if we let other people help us to unpack.

    • I’m usually pretty controlled about my packing. I don’t like someone else to try and tell me how to do it, or undo it. But, I do recognize when I need help, and invite it. 😉

  7. True on both fronts. Thanks for the reminder!

  8. findingyourvoiceweb says:

    Excellent choice of words. I enjoyed reading.

  9. russtowne says:

    Good points, Colleen!
    Russ

  10. taylormitch says:

    Thanks for that deep thought.

  11. Hahaha! So true. We all have our own baggage. LOL!

  12. Sad that people seem to keep on and on unpacking their baggage, sharing it with as many as possible, and never throwing it out. Perhaps the Orangeman will sort it all out!!

  13. reocochran says:

    I agree, Colleen. Don’t assume to understand other’s baggage but allow unpacking, if someone needs to share their load or listen to understand. ❤

  14. Debra says:

    Oh but this is good, Colleen! Assumptions, even well-meaning, can lead to all sorts of division. I love the way you’ve “unpacked” this one!

  15. I will invite unpacking with grace, mostly I prefer to do my own. I do help others with their unpacking, they all seem to need me to do so. Sometimes it becomes a tad heavy and I have to take a step back. Perfect as always for how I’m feeling, Colleen.

Leave a Reply

