My Faith In America

I am not a Trump fan.  To be fair, I wasn’t a fan of anyone running for President of The United States.

But I’m not disheartened by his election and him becoming our next President.

What I am disheartened by are the Americans who are giving up, even if only verbally, on our country.

I understand fear.  And concern.  And uncertainty.

But America never, never got better at anything because of the people who live here and love it here, giving up.  Or whining.  Or shrugging their shoulders.  They took those shoulders and put their weight behind what it was they are working on.  What it is they are working for.   And what it is they believe in.   And they surged.  Forward.  Together.

I am proud to be an American doing the work I do in America.  We have a voice.   But my voice will not be one of doom and gloom and woe.

It will either speak positively about a place that affords me the privilege and right to speak the way I choose, or it will be supported with works to change the things I do not feel positive about.

I pray for our new President to learn, to take counsel, and for the people of America to remember who they are, where they are, and what we can do together.

My faith in America comes from our history.  Not all of it has been good.  But good people, have always made a difference in it’s history.

I believe in us.

 

Tagged , , , , , ,

38 thoughts on “My Faith In America

  1. russtowne says:

    Bravo, Colleen. You put into words thoughts and feelings I’ve had about this situation for months. Thank you for your post.

  2. goldenbrodie says:

    I believe in us..in America…in the history that I embrace and strive to understand. Your words are beyond thoughtful.

  3. Wonderful post. Americans will always come together no matter our differences or our likes and dislikes. We are the UNITED States of America.

  4. viveka says:

    Great thoughts, Colleen!

  5. GP Cox says:

    Great to hear a voice of reason instead of ranting! Thank you, Colleen. 2017 is only going to be as good as the effort we all put into it.

  6. So true, Colleen! Anytime a new president is elected then half of the country is going to be disappointed. Sadly, what is happening in our country is way past being disappointed. Like you said, they have given up except to whine, protest, do their best to discourage those who are not disappointed and to try and convince others that Trump isn’t the legal President of the United States. Half of the country was disappointed when Obama was elected, but those did their best to get behind him and hope that he succeeded because that would mean the United States would succeed. It’s very disappointing and discouraging, to say the least.

  7. tric says:

    I hope you can stay this strong. I think there are many changes ahead for your country and today’s speech wasn’t exactly the most inspiring, or inclusive.

  8. I watched the inauguration at noon today. Interesting.
    Wish you all the best.

  9. Angie says:

    I didn’t vote for either of them, casting my vote for an independent candidate instead, but the election is over and now we have to just try to live with the results of what is still the best place on earth to live. We have, unfortunately, given up most of our rights by our own apathy, and now we have to make the most of what we have. This didn’t happen overnight–it’s been building up to this conclusion for the past 50 years, and I have been preaching from my soapbox most of that time. Now my time is coming to an end and I fear for my grandchildren’s future. I might live long enough to see the beginning of the end — that actually has begun, but thankfully I won’t live long with the hell on earth we have allowed to happen in this country thru our apathy. By allowing career politicians to rule supreme in D.C. we have abdicated our rights, one by one because it seems easier to go along with them than to elect new, unspoiled, unpaid for people. Just ask around you about how many people got out in the past 20+ years to vote and you will see that apathy at work.
    Sorry. I thought I had my soapbox in storage but I found it again and climbed on board out of habit.

    • Apathy is a good word. I read someone’s comments today that pretty much said “we” better get used to having to be involved in government because we will no longer be able to “sit back” and watch our government, our representative government, do what they’re supposed to do. I was shocked. What did they mean “sit back”. Who the heck thought they should sit back and let government do everything????? It’s time we WERE involved in what our government does.

  10. Good for you Colleen! ❤
    Diana xo

  11. ksbeth says:

    thanks, colleen. i’m still worried, but i’ll do my best )

  12. […] via My Faith In America — The Chatter Blog […]

  13. taylormitch says:

    This is a critical turning point for our GREAT COUNTRY. We ALL need to give Mr. Trump a fair chance!

  14. Good for you, and well said. I am so tired of all the complaining. I’ve never heard such uproar and for so long after an election. I wish we could all move on already.

    • Right? I don’t blame anyone for being worried. But I have been worried these last years as I see horrific things happen in our country. Let’s get our …. together and fix what’s wrong and make better what’s good.

  15. Nice blog. The problem is “we”. Everyone now a days is all about entitlement and self service. Unless we get back to a time to where it is better to help our neighbor than it is ourselves, we will continue down this destructive path. On my page I have started some discussions that I’ve tried to more factual than opinion showing how the country has become divided.

    • I agree, it seems many have lost the ‘we’. But I’m pretty fortunate, I live and work within the helping field of my community. I know ‘we’ still exist. And I’m fortunate to learn from them daily.

Leave a Reply

