I Think I Was A Sophomore

We were sitting in a high school class.  The teacher was asking us questions we were supposed to answer on paper.  It wasn’t a quiz or test.  Just something we were doing, maybe to realize things about ourselves?

I don’t remember.

I do remember the teacher asking us to write down our “best friend’s name”.  You could hear the scritching of twenty plus pens on paper as names were written.

But one girl spoke up.  She was sitting in the row to my right, one seat closer to the front than me.  I could see her in profile.  She wasn’t writing.

She told the teacher she would never rate her friends.  She would never say one was “best” because it would make anyone else who was her friend feel like they were “less than”.  And she didn’t want anyone to feel like that.

The teacher accepted this.

I sat there then, and sit here still today, thinking about that.

That girl left such an impression on me.  That she was that considerate of other people’s feelings.  At that young age she had the wisdom to know  something that once it was said, seems like we should all have known it.

But I know others had written down names.

I looked down at my paper and drew a line through the names I had written and not been able to choose from.

 

Tagged , , , , , , ,

41 thoughts on “I Think I Was A Sophomore

  1. Ocean Bream says:

    Sometimes it is the smallest of things that leave the hardest impact. I remember a friend of mine used to tell me that I was not her ‘bestest friend’, I was her ‘best friend’. To be fair, we were only eight at the time, but since then I have struggled with placing this label on anybody. Each friend, I have realised, is different from the other. With each friend the relationship is unique – the sense of humour and conversations tailored to that specific relationship. It is a beautiful thing, friendship.

  2. I had so many acquaintances in my life, the true friends…not so many. Seriously. It seems I only let them in, one at a time. Thought-provoking exercise.

  3. goldenbrodie says:

    Keeping my life open to youthful wisdom…and so I see and experience this often. Your memory gave me some, too. My always golden thanks.

  4. kerrymckim says:

    She sounds like a very smart girl. I used to stress out because I didn’t have a best friend but now I like that I have a great group of close friends. I am glad I didn’t think I had to pick just one.

  5. Thought provoking post my friend. 🙂

  6. mewhoami says:

    Wow, such wisdom. A great lesson,one that even the teacher learned that day, I’m sure.

  7. russtowne says:

    She is/was a role model for friendship and empathy.

  8. Wow. An amazing thinker at such a young age. Food for thought. ❤ ❤

  9. Such wisdom.How humbling! I hope she had, and continues to have a life blessed with loads of unclassified friends.

  10. […] via I Think I Was A Sophomore — The Chatter Blog […]

  11. Angie says:

    This just gave me one of those “wish I had said that” moments. Very wise words from a young person of any age. And something we old fogies need to remember also. Thanks for the reminder, Colleen.

  12. Debra says:

    I’m impressed with a highschooler coming to that conclusion, and especially to have the strength to speak openly and with conviction! What a significant moment. I can see how you’d never forget it, Colleen.

  13. reocochran says:

    You have had moments like this, Colleen. I value your writing and creating meaningful messages in everyday situations. Thanks for this additional enlightenment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

