It Never Made Me Stronger

I picked it up when I was younger.

And carried it a very long time.

It never made me stronger.

Though the weight of it grew heavier.

SHAME

I picked it up when I was younger.

And carried it a very long time.

It never made me stronger.

Though the weight of it grew heavier.

BLAME

I picked it up when I was younger.

And carried it a very long time.

It never made me stronger.

Though the weight of it grew heavier.

GRUDGE

I picked it up when I was younger.

And carried it a very long time.

It never made me stronger.

Though the weight of it grew heavier.

GUILT

I picked it up when I was younger.

And carried it a very long time.

It never made me stronger.

Though the weight of it grew heavier.

REGRET

I picked it up when I was younger.

And carried it a very long time.

It never made me stronger.

Though the weight of it grew heavier.

ANGER

Imagine the contradiction.

And the irony.

Of how it took courage

To put it down.

And my strength increased.

When I no longer carried the burdens

That I picked up along the way.

Put It Down

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

40 thoughts on “It Never Made Me Stronger

  1. Wow. Amazing visually and verbally. Bravo.

  2. rugby843 says:

    Very good, all of it!

  3. Ann Koplow says:

    Thanks for putting those things down, for all of us.

  4. tric says:

    I think it weakened us as we carried it but we must have been strong to carry it. And yes infinitely stronger now we ve let it down.
    Super imagery.

    • Thank you Tric. It’s an old post I reworked a bit. I have been thinking about it for months. Finally thought I would revisit it. I like your point, we must have been strong to carry it. Simpatico.

  5. ksbeth says:

    great! and i’m so glad you did –

  6. What a great illustration of those burdens we all have carried. 💜

  7. This is f.a.n.tastic, Colleen. 🙂 You are a great thinker. ❤ ❤

  8. I know, it is very freeing to let go of all those unnecessary emotions! You feel 1,000 lbs. lighter!

  9. goldenbrodie says:

    Powerful words supported buy your illustrations… that weighted my focus on wanting you to put that red bag of burden down. And you did! Adore your sharing and insight.

  10. Great post Colleen. So effective. Another book??? ❤

    • Thank you Paulette. This one was actually an old post I reworked a bit. I’ve had some book ideas….just haven’t moved forward with any. I like the simplicity of this one. It feels more natural to me.

  11. That definitely deserves to be in another book. Combine with the non classified friends who could help with the burden along the way.

  12. rgemom says:

    We need a “Love” button. This is great Colleen.

  13. Oh my goodness Colleen, absolutely perfect. Those illustrations to go with the burdens we carry then shed are simply apt. You do know how to pick me up 🙂 No more words necessary.

  14. Debra says:

    The message is so important to each of us, Colleen, and your wonderful illustrations provide a lasting visual imprint. Fabulous!

  15. russtowne says:

    I love happy endings and new beginnings!

  16. reocochran says:

    This one resonates with me! It covers so many emotions and negative feelings, Colleen. I believe we need to unload our burdens, try to get over the challenges and hurdles. 🙂

  17. Wow. That was immensely profound. Well done, Master!

  18. All life tribulations ? I think they made me more resentful and an alcoholic than stronger.

Leave a Reply

