I Don’t Need A Reason

Sometimes, love, just is.

We can’t explain it or define it.

We don’t know why it happens,

We just have it.

I don’t need a reason to love.

But

He gives them to me every day.

Humor.

Patience.

Acceptance.

Tolerance.

Generosity.

Truth.

Encouragement.

Love doesn’t always give us reason or make sense.

I don’t take for granted

That I love,

And it

Just

Is.

I Don't Need A Reason

I have a need to explore parts of this world I have not yet known, and I can’t help but pause in my new discoveries to appreciate what I need not search for.

He is there.

Tagged , , , , , ,

39 thoughts on “I Don’t Need A Reason

  1. russtowne says:

    A wise woman appreciates and celebrates the treasures she holds in her heart. Thank you for the reminder, Colleen.

  2. Colleen, I read this just after posting a poem of my own. A poem which began to open me up again as I wrote it a few weeks ago. As I read this I could feel my body temperature rise, warmth radiating from my heart out to my limbs. So simple. So guileless. So true.

  3. Jim McKeever says:

    Pause and appreciate. Yes.

  4. Wonderful poem, Colleen!

  5. Beautiful Colleen, if every marriage or partnership had that love there would be less divorce and seperation. Well penned.♥♥

  6. You are one lucky woman, Colleen. I don’t understand that old saying not to wear your heart on your sleeve. How can you not when you hold such love and joy? ❤ ❤ ❤

  7. tric says:

    You are indeed lucky.What a lovely tribute. As the years have passed I’ve begun to appreciate ‘himself’ more and more.

  8. How sweet Colleen – I’m sure you give him reasons everyday to love you too. ❤
    Diana xo

  9. reocochran says:

    Everyone should show appreciation for their special someone’s. If someone has family to fill in the holes, like I do, be grateful! 🙂

  10. Bonnie Bao says:

    Beautiful Love Poem! Love is a wonderful feeling.

  11. Heartafire says:

    This is beautiful Colleen!

  12. He is indeed there, and, so obviously, an integral part of you. Is that him pondering on the bridge?

  13. Debra says:

    How important to recognize the inspiration behind our loves, even as we recognize we can’t explain or define it! So lovely, Colleen.

  14. I love this it’s so powerful and so true

Leave a Reply

