Like Most Of Us Wouldn’t

 

I sat in the coffee house enjoying his laughter.

He was uninhibited.

Laughing freely.

Like most of us wouldn’t do.

He was sitting alone in the lounging area, feet up on the ottoman.  Work boots, work clothes, and by appearances, taking a break.

A break.  I’ve gotten to the point where I feel guilty about taking a break.  Even though it was my lunch break, I felt bad about sitting down and enjoying my soup and bread.  I had stuff to do.

I let all that go as I heard his first laugh and turned my head to see someone comfortable and at ease.

I may have enjoyed his break more than he did.

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

45 thoughts on “Like Most Of Us Wouldn’t

  1. russtowne says:

    Thank you for the reminder as to how refreshing it can be to find someone comfortable in their own skin, Colleen.

  2. I love your last line, Colleen, “I may have enjoyed his break more than he did.”
    Laughter is good medicine and it’s free. 😀 😛

  3. It is important to enjoy your break Colleen, otherwise you end up with negative stress, which is very bad, I know by experience.
    Great for you to enjoy this laughter today 🙂

  4. mewhoami says:

    Glad that he reinforced to you that a good break during the day is okay, and even great. We all need a break every now and then.

    • MWAI, I can’t tell you the days I wasted by not taking a break. He was my favorite that day and doesn’t even know it. 🙂

      • mewhoami says:

        Those angels in disguise teach us a great deal, don’t they? I’ve had a few of my own. It goes to show that we never know who we touch and whose lives we change, simply by being who we are.

  5. Ocean Bream says:

    I really really love this, Colleen. Honestly, it’s so refreshing. You enjoyed his lunch break more than he did! Lovely ❤ I hope you take more moments to enjoy a break and blow those stress cobwebs away 🙂

  6. goldenbrodie says:

    I can hear him now…and I enjoyed your bread and soup. Sometimes its not really a break. love this…

    • Thank you GB. It was probably one of my only true breaks during work, it’s happened on occasion. But I usually feel guilty! And I don’t get paid for my breaks!!! 🙂

  7. Angie says:

    Nice, Colleen! Personally I love bread and soup — enjoyed it all day! And my life is a break now, so change that to a she and you could be writing my story!

  8. that last sentence gave me a big smile 🙂

  9. Ooooo don’t you find other people’s glee is so darn infectious.

  10. ksbeth says:

    his laughter was for the common good. it is infectious and spreads )

  11. duncanr says:

    we need folk like him to show us the way

  12. Wonderful. I love how much you get people.

  13. Laughing alone can sometimes be the best laughs of all! To share them with others is just great!

  14. reocochran says:

    I am so glad your work break included this stranger’s generous and freeing laugh, Colleen. It is an immeasurable gift which not many truly allow their joy to spill out like his did. . .

  15. taylormitch says:

    Never feel badly about taking a break. So important to do that and recharge our batteries.

  16. Collect Life says:

    We should all laugh often and freely👍😃

Leave a Reply

