I’m Fat, Cranky and Imperfect

There are certain truths about ourselves that we are either fastidious about in our representation of, or very much in denial about, or willing to look sideways at and see a different version of reality.

Here’s some undeniable truths about myself:

I’m fat, cranky and imperfect.

Sometimes I don’t have a problem with my truths.  The above are not my complete truths.  And being my truths they don’t tell you much about my existence.

How I see myself at any given moment may fluctuate.  How I see myself may never match up with how someone else sees me.

I’m not always okay with my truths and I believe I sometimes look at myself sideways and indulge in that different version of reality.  Because some days, I just need to.

Other days I have no problems claiming what is mine.  It’s not self-deprecating to know and expound on our truths.  It can be liberating and freeing to know your own truths, and live well with them.

 

These particular truths are just simple, obvious truths for me to point out.  I know these particular truths are not the sum of me, or even most of me.  I’m fat, but I’ve been fatter and I’ve been thinner.  There is a great story there.  I’m cranky, but I can be affable and amiable to the point of being nauseous.  I’m imperfect.  But I can manage, on occasion, being right.

I am fastidious about, I deny, and I look sideways at my truths.

That, is the truth.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

40 thoughts on “I’m Fat, Cranky and Imperfect

  1. Yes. You are true. And you speak for most of us, I think. Perfectly human.

  2. Angie says:

    I have loads of truths also, Colleen! I just learn how to live with them, and lately it’s getting easier by the minute! 😇

  3. Ocean Bream says:

    I’m fat, cranky and imperfect too!! 😀 I did not miss the point of this beautifully written post, however. To love oneself and to be comfortable with oneself is to accept all of one’s truths. And I like how you did not just limit yourself to those three words, but a merge between them and all of the other extremes and in streams you were and are and will be, there is a story in everything, and everybody has one ❤

    • What a great comment OB. 🙂 Our stories are so important, regardless of how many people know our stories, they exist. We exist. And imperfectly we add up to and are part of everything. Thank you. ❤

  4. reocochran says:

    I do lots of things which are laid back that may not be good to say but involves unstrapping and loosening and no shoes! I definitely am a whole different person around loved ones and friends. I occasionally shock co-workers with a mean or swear word. Sometimes I use these to express frustration! (and do come across cranky!) xo

    • There are those in my life who are NOT surprised by a swear word from me. But then there are others who are COMPLETELY surprised by me using swear words. So in addition to those other truths, I guess I have different truths in different situations. 😉

  5. You are wonderful, if not perfect!

  6. You’re perfect just the way you are.

  7. Sigh. I’m fat and cranky too but no longer dwell on these. 🙂

  8. (And I smile with recognition, empathy and understanding.) I feel ya, girl.

  9. goldenbrodie says:

    Oh yes…we are all a work in progress & sideways truth…love it👍❤️

  10. ksbeth says:

    i think that we all do, colleen –

  11. Val Boyko says:

    Thank you for being human. And reminding me 😉

  12. Nobody is perfect Colleen 🙂

  13. Glad to be a part of the imperfect human race. We are what we are. ❤

  14. And the truth shall make you free? The truth is, imperfect makes us perfectly fabulous.

  15. mewhoami says:

    We all have truths whether we like to admit to them or not. I certainly have my fair share, but there’s a lot of good mixed in there too.

  16. jmgoyder says:

    I totally get this!

  17. My truths: I am deliciously handsome, a fine wit, a great raconteur, and an inveterate liar!

  18. Debra says:

    One thing about you that is true, I firmly believe, is your very genuine spirit. You are “the real deal,” Colleen. It’s good for us to be as honest with ourselves as we can handle without getting depressed! 🙂

    • I try Debra. Sometimes, I am sure I am a bit delusional with myself. But I do try for that truth and “genuine spirit”. And yes, being truthful can be served with some depressing stuff!!!! 😉

  19. I’m fat, cranky, and impregnated. Does that count? 😉

Leave a Reply

