Generations

When you can stand,

Generations deep,

In the land of your fathers.

Three Generations Return To Ireland

Explore the castles.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Admire the strongholds.

High Cross and Round Tower

And see their courage.

Round Tower at Rock Of Cashel

When you walk the roads with your brother.

Brother and I at Giant's Causeway

And wonder about all that was before you.

Rock of Cashel

When you can

Place your feet where your fathers once stood.

Dun Aeonghus

And stand vigil where your fathers  lie…

Family Gathered at Cemetery, Inish Mor

When you breath that air.

That they once inhaled.

Dun Aeonghus and Me

And exist where the High Kings gathered.

Hill of Tara

When you plant your feet in the soil where your family tree grew.

Ireland Tree

And see where the green truly grows.

Green Fields of Ireland

When you stand here.

Inishmore and I

You find home.

And your very soul.

Like you’ve never known.

*
*
*
*

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

I hope that everyone has a wonderful day of connecting with their own ancestry.

And if you aren’t Irish-

Or it doesn’t include Irish-

I’m sorry.

😉

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

27 thoughts on “Generations

  1. Beautiful pictures! How exciting to get to go to your ancestral homeland and connect with your ancestors of the past through the land and landmarks! Happy St. Patrick’s Day! It happens to be my birthday so I must be Irish! LOL!

  2. goldenbrodie says:

    Love your photos that support the memories. I’m Scots-Irish. Went to Ireland last May…all the way around the lovely island. Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

  3. Kathy says:

    Beautiful words that put meaning to these pictures.

  4. Happy St. Patty’s Day Colleen!

  5. Jim McKeever says:

    Well, that just gave me goosebumps and a little mist in the eye. Happy day to you and yours, Colleen!

    • Thank you Jim. I hope you had a fabulous day as well. I appreciated all of the music and history you shared. I was pretty proud of myself, I think I was at least familiar with it all. 🙂

  6. mewhoami says:

    What beauty! Love the pictures. I’m Irish. 🙂 Happy St. Patrick’s Day to you too!

  7. ksbeth says:

    wonderful – i visited this summer too and it was really cool to find where my family once stood, i totally identify and love your post – happy st. pat’s!

  8. russtowne says:

    This man of Kiley blood loves you post, Colleen. Happy St. Patrick’s Day to you!

  9. Super story and pictures, but more so, memories! May the luck of the Irish be with you and yours!

Leave a Reply

