Color To The Ears

I was being waited on by a woman.  She was wonderfully friendly, polite, and engaging.

I asked her where she was from.  Her accent was not from where we were.

She told me where she was from.  She shook her head and said “I’ve been here eight years and I can’t lose this accent.”

I shook my head at her and said “stop trying to lose it!”

Accents are to the ear, what color is to the eye.

Intriguing.

Diverse.

Interesting.

And makes me curious about you.

That’s what our differences should do.

Tagged , , ,

27 thoughts on “Color To The Ears

  1. Great post! “Accents are to the ear, what color is to the eye”. Love this line. Well penned. ☺☺

    • Thank you Salpa58. I had to pull over and type it in my phone when I was riding so I wouldn’t forget it. I left her with a smile on my face she was so pleasant. I just love capturing joy in a day.

  2. So true! I’m sure you made her day!

  3. Ilakkiyaa says:

    Being an Indian who constantly worries about her various accents, I must say this post made me feel good 😀

  4. Ann Koplow says:

    Love your accent, Colleen.

  5. ksbeth says:

    oh, i so agree –

  6. Very nice take on accents and voices. 🙂

  7. When I came to L.A., my sister and I had such strong Brooklyn accents they used to call us ‘The 2 Nannies’…after the Fran Drescher role.

  8. goldenbrodie says:

    Love this…we all need to embrace wonder in our lives.

  9. russtowne says:

    Thank you for the excellent reminder, Colleen.

  10. Ocean Bream says:

    This is so true! Some accents are so beautiful, and add such dimension and character 🙂

  11. reocochran says:

    This is a great perspective and kind to tell her this so she won’t try so hard, Colleen! Wonderful way to express this, too. 🙂

  12. M. L. Kappa says:

    I love accents! And I love that if you spend time with someone who’s got one, it rubs off on you a little…

  13. Utter bliss. I could hear all the accents of the comments!

Leave a Reply

