I Loathe And Detest You

I loathe you.

You sneak up

And attack from within.

You shackle

And try to incapacitate, debilitate.

But I have found the key and keep it safe.

When you attack

I find the strength

To fight you

With the knowledge

That I do not have to bow to you,

Let you stay,

Or crumble

In your presence.

You Do Not Own Me.

If you don’t understand the paralyzing possibility of trauma

I either

Admire your life

Or fear

You.

.

(I take great comfort in knowing life without abuse exists.)

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

26 thoughts on “I Loathe And Detest You

  1. Ann Koplow says:

    I take great comfort in knowing you, Colleen. Many thanks for this.

  2. This is when you want your super power ring. I hope you feel safe again quickly A cup of tea and a good friend would help.

  3. ksbeth says:

    and you are still standing. and an inspiration for so many –

  4. Anonymous says:

    Just beautiful Colleen. You are an inspiration!!!

  5. Gibber says:

    I’m with you. I’m both happy for and envy those who’ve not lived through it.

  6. May the only chains be daisy chains, made, and given, by little ones.

  7. Debra says:

    Wow, Colleen. You took my breath away. I don’t know a lot about trauma from personal experience, I’m thankful to say, but I couldn’t possibly get to this stage of my life and not have walked with and held fragile friends who have had life simply sucked out of them. I’ve learned a lot through their courage. You bless me with your words.

  8. reocochran says:

    Just sending you more Peace of mind and blessings, Colleen. xo

  9. Yet to find a poetic that doesn’t write from a place of grief.

Leave a Reply

