I Sit Across From People

I sit across from people on a regular basis and ask them their stories.

I have heard hundreds, more likely, thousands of stories.

Some of these stories have made me laugh, or cry, be more curious, or be less curious.  I have felt possibly every emotion one could feel while talking to another human being.  I have walked outside and lifted my face, in separate but equally as intense moments, to both the sun and the rain and been so very grateful to be able to do so.   I have had moments where I found it difficult to get up and walk away, and I have had moments where I walked out and kept walking as far as I could go.  There are stories that will never leave me. There are stories I beg my psyche to forget.  There are faces I smile at the memory of, and faces I pray forgiveness for.

I have had the pleasure of people pure and kind.

I have had the horror of people dark and angry.

I still suffer the pains of people harmed.

I still question how any could harm the way they do.

I have been taught the truth of love.

I have been taught lies disguised as love.

I have walked away feeling sorry for someone.

I have walked away feeling sorry for me.

I sit across from people to hear their stories.

Never have I left one

Without feeling the story.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

56 thoughts on “I Sit Across From People

  1. it reminds me of a very special song…
    I need another story
    something to get off my chest
    my life is kinda boring
    need something that i can confess

  2. Woow….interesting piece

  3. That is the beauty of the human experience. Good for you for taking it all in !

  4. Jim McKeever says:

    Humanity is reflected in stories. Colleen, you have the gifts of empathy, compassion and insight, with the added gift of sharing that human connection so eloquently. You are Oliver Sacks’ sentient being, in touch with the world.

  5. Ann Koplow says:

    I’m feeling your story now, with gratitude.

  6. ksbeth says:

    what an interesting perspective you have – sitting there across from them, taking it all in, without judgement, but there is no way to protect your heart. i’m sure this has made you an even more compassionate person, it would be impossible for it not to have an impact on you. but it still can be a huge burden to carry, a double edged sword.

    • That’s it in a nutshell Beth. The not being able to protect one’s own heart. Thank you for what you said, I hope I’ve grown because of it. Carrying those double edged swords can be tricky.

  7. That’s very powerful Colleen! You know how to experience the very essence of a human being!

  8. Jazzy Rae says:

    Such a great message, and powerfully written. Thank you. 🙂

  9. goldenbrodie says:

    Oh Colleen, you are the caring ears that every human with a heart desires…you care. I embrace your thoughts.

  10. Sharing our stories is what makes us human. Feeling heard is feeling alive.

  11. We do love to hear each others’ stories. With you on this one. 🙂

  12. We experience another dimension through your stories. Sometimes it’s poignant and sometimes thought provoking, but always from the heart.

  13. skyblue4443 says:

    I love reading things like this so I always have something to think about.

  14. Amazing, I listen to a few stories from people I just met and the both have stayed within me. One how two couples met in a furniture store and a woman how she met her husband unexpectedly by going to London on a whim! Nice post!

  15. This is very touching I wish people were as kind as you to actually care to know their story.

    • Well, it’s part of my job(s) for all of my career. But, it’s part of my every day. I have always been fascinated by the fact that every human out there has a world revolving around them, and if I don’t ask them or listen, I won’t know it! 🙂

  16. […] via I Sit Across From People — The Chatter Blog […]

  17. Raney Simmon says:

    That was beautifully written.

  18. That must take a lot of emotional stamina.

  19. A really beautiful insight into your humanity Colleen. If more people would just shut up for a moment, and listen, really listen, the world would be so much richer.

  20. The World needs more people to do the same thing. Just sit and listen to the stories of others, I think we would find we are not that different, or at least not different enough to harbor any meaningful animosities.

  21. jaruserbmoht says:

    That’s really touching. Reminds me of the rhyme of the ancient mariner.

Leave a Reply

