Pepsi, I Am Not Offended

I just viewed Pepsi’s controversial commercial for the first time.

I’m sure this will not be a popular stance, but I was not offended.

I watched as a movement of people who appear to be advocating for peace and inclusion, takes to the streets, to be heard.

People are encouraged to join them, by others, or by their own feelings.

What I take from it so far is that part of the intention is to build rapport.

Inclusion.

Acceptance.

Inclusion.

How many real life situations have gone viral in this hypocritical world, where protestor and other protestor, or protestor and law, meet; a kind gesture is caught between the two ‘sides’.  Something is exchanged from one side to the other; a hug, a rose, a tear, a bottle of water…  And the world applauds.

Here, a simple commercial showing and advocating peace and inclusion incorporates a usually trending moment to sell-because that’s what ads do-and now it’s offensive.

The commercial showed people rejoicing because a human being doing his job accepted a kind gesture from someone in a movement.

I hope the world forgives me for being simple minded.   But I feel it was that simple.  It was a kind gesture.

The commercial did not show the world’s problems being resolved.  It did not minimize anyone’s issues by a kind act.  Give a pop.  Be kind to one another.  And they moved on.

And you know what?  I think there are a lot more of these moments than we see.  Because as the world just proved, this kind of action, consideration and kindness does not sell.  So why promote it, right?

I accepted this commercial for it’s intention.  To sell pop.   To use kindness and trending moments to sell pop-because that’s what advertising does.  And I appreciated the message of ‘be kind’.

The movement was not offensive.

The officers were not offensive.

The gesture was not offensive.

Be kind.

Be kind.

Be kind.

For whatever reason people were offended, okay.   I just wanted to share why I was not.

Some people may use the word ‘soda’.  I do not.  No offense meant.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

41 thoughts on “Pepsi, I Am Not Offended

  1. tarafaherty says:

    I haven’t seen the commercial yet, but I can see it in my mind, and can appreciate your perspective 😊

  2. I appreciate your opinion. After I viewed it, I said to myself “okay.” It looked like people who were consumed with their lives all of a sudden realizing their was something bigger, and more. I guess having a Jenner as the person was offensive to some as her brand is not usually one associated with Protest and The Betterment of the World.

    However with that being said…I wasn’t offended either. I really don’t care about a commercial. The issues in the world is bigger than a silly commercial.

  3. I’m with you all the way Colleen, even to calling pop, pop!

    Why so many nowadays find the need to get offended, often to horrible, vitriolic, violent, extremes, just because some else has been offended, or they feel that it is the right thing to do, I cannot understand.

    People – do not jump on the bandwagon. In fact, grab the side of it and help stop the bandwagon altogether. By joining in you are just making things worse.

    Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but not entitled to try to force that opinion on others, or to be nasty to others with an alternative opinion.

    End of rant!

    • Peter, I love this response. Thank you. I just was floored at the commercial when I saw it. I was expecting something horrendous. I thought it was pretty bland. Not their best commercial. But certainly not offensive.

  4. Heartafire says:

    Hi Colleen, a wonderful text! I have to agree, I did not find this offensive. As one commented, there are so many things to be concerned with, encouraging inclusion is not one of them.

  5. Haven’t seen the commercial either but now am interested. 😉

  6. birthmark3d says:

    I didn’t even consider this commercial having offensive content the first time I watched it. So I watched it again after reading your blog. And I still didn’t find it offensive. I agree with your stance of inclusion, acceptance and kindness.

  7. BrookeLooks says:

    I actually felt the same. I really wasn’t offended what so ever. What I saw was this:

    Two separate sides. Being united by something. Serving a peaceful protest.

    Fin.

  8. GP Cox says:

    You are NOT simple-minded. You are actually a voice of reason living among a world that doesn’t know what to complain about next!!

    • Thank you GPCox. I think you are the first person to tell me I am not simple minded. You are my favorite today. And your comment surely paints a good picture of the world today.

  9. goldenbrodie says:

    I haven’t seen it. But giving is giving in my mind… more importantly in my emotions. I hope to see it soon.

  10. tric says:

    I’ve not seen it. My only thoughts on it are that there are always sensitivities in others about us. Here in Ireland we are ridiculously sensitive if the British claim a singer or actress as their own if they are in fact Irish. Of course we are over reacting but it’s not about the claim, it’s about the history. I suspect the same was true for this commercial. Now I’m so intrigued I’d love to watch it but dislike giving a commercial my time for free!
    Interesting point though Colleen well made.

    • Good point Tric. Maybe other’s perspective is colored with their history. But that being said, this commercial’s intent was obviously not to offend anyone. I get not liking a commercial or whatever, but the outrage expressed over this seemed sorely over the top.

  11. Val Boyko says:

    I’ve just watched it Colleen. I wasn’t offended in the least. The underlying message of inclusion and being heard is a good one. However, I did think it was so unrealistic and naiive. Thanks for posting this Colleen 💛

  12. keatlaretswe says:

    You are the first person to put a different perspective on all the negative things I read about it. I see your point. Thank you for sharing.

  13. notdonner says:

    I appreciate reason and tolerance. Some people are ‘offended’ by everything from colors to messages. The rub is to tolerate differing opinion – without shutting down the one who differs. That’s the real underlying message; Pepsi and other companies, will test the wind and see that ‘inclusion’ is the marketing tool of today.

    • Notdonner, wonderful comment. I have noticed that ‘tolerance’ is often a one way street. It is demanded, but then those who can’t convince others to change their stance, seem to have little tolerance for those who differ. It goes both ways for certain.

  14. Debra says:

    I never saw the commercial but heard all the hype, but your impressions do mirror what seemed to fit my thoughts upon hearing. The critical nature of our general population doesn’t mean we’re using critical thinking skills, sadly. I like your observation that it would be helpful to look at intent! That’s important in our daily lives across all spectrums, I think. I am glad you spoke to the topic!

    • Thank you Debra. I was blown away, once I saw the video, of how little I saw in it. It’s not that I was impressed with it. But I certainly wasn’t offended by it. I got the message, I believe, that Pepsi wanted to use. I appreciate your point about the critical thinking skills, and lack there of.

  15. reocochran says:

    Your reaction was very close to mine! I saw this as a simple but warm gesture, Colleen. Anyone who watches or knows about this family realize they embrace people of color. Kim is married, Khloe used to be married, while their brother is with a partner of color. The younger girls model and are pretty, too. They embody “inclusion” within their personal lives; more than most people.
    Pepsi just took a page out of an older advertising promotion for a different kind of cola.
    I still love that song, “I’d like to teach the world to sing in perfect harmony.” ❤ (Coca Cola company)

    • I’ve never seen the Kardashian’s shows. Of course I know who they are but I really don’t know much about them. But I’m glad that you gave me that info on them. And oh that song for Coca Cola was one of the best!!!

      • reocochran says:

        Thank you for not minding my including a few details about the Kardashians. So glad the information may be helpful, Colleen. My youngest daughter, Felicia, is my source of pop culture starting with “Party of Five” and “The L.C,” up to today’s entertainment news. . .
        Isn’t it one of the sweetest songs, with a great message included? I love it, Colleen. ❤

  16. Reblogged this on sherriemiranda1 and commented:
    I was racking my brain trying to figure out what this was about & I must agree with Colleen. Anytime you show protesters & police getting along, that’s a good thing! 😉 ❤
    Peace, love & getting along,
    Sherrie
    Sherrie Miranda’s historically based, coming of age, Adventure novel “Secrets & Lies in El Salvador” is about an American girl in war-torn El Salvador:
    http://tinyurl.com/klxbt4y
    Her husband made a video for her novel. He wrote the song too. You can go to the Home page of her blog to watch it:
    https://sherriemiranda1.wordpress.com
    Or you can see it on YouTube:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P11Ch5chkAc 😉

Leave a Reply

