The Journey You Know

I’m in awe of people who know the truth of their journey

From an early age.

I have done some wonderful things so far in my own journey.

Even though I never knew what it was I was supposed to do.

There are things that I truly considered while I was growing up.

I would have made a great nun.

I would have been horrible about going to church.

But I would have been faithfully strong.

I would have made a phenomenal cowgirl.

As long as I didn’t have to shoot anything,

Well I would have been okay shootin’ tin cans.

I think I could have gotten pretty good with ropin’.

And ridin’.

And spittin’, as long as I didn’t have to chew t’bacco.

I’d have made a great motorcycle mechanic.

I love the smell of motorcycles.

I love getting dirty.

As long as I know I can clean up.

.

There’s a journey I know,

Because I’m living it.

But there’s a journey I don’t yet know,

Because I haven’t made up my mind yet.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

36 thoughts on “The Journey You Know

  1. Ann Koplow says:

    You make a phenomenally great blogger.

  2. rugby843 says:

    I agree with Ann! : )

  3. ksbeth says:

    well, you are clearly an artist and writer, among other things. there is no time limit for your life decisions –

  4. goldenbrodie says:

    This one is not only deep in thinking but plastered smiles on my reading face. The thing is…we don’t decide sometimes…we just do…following instincts…the heart. I’m so happy to know you through your blog. It’s a special treat for me each day.

    • GB, you are amazingly kind. Thank you. I think you just described my life. I just ‘did’ many things because I had to make a decision. And every time I did, it was a direction that led me to here. 🙂

  5. LOL! I think we play these roles off and on throughout our life or maybe roles that are similar!

  6. I agree with Ann and Rugby. And ksbeth & goldenbrodie & priceless joy. And probably a few more to come. ❤

  7. …..and I agree with all of the above. That looks like a nasty habit you almost had!

  8. russtowne says:

    I enjoyed this post, Colleen. A wonderful aspect of an open mind is that it can be changed. I’ll bet there is a limitless number of journeys you (and everyone else) don’t know because we haven’t made up our minds yet.

  9. Wonderful, fun and magical.

  10. This has to be one of my favorite posts!! Xxx

  11. Debra says:

    I love your attitude! And every day opens new possibilities towards further life adventures. I often think about what I would have done at a younger age if I’d had a little more encouragement to
    step out and try or even fail. I didn’t learn until much later that it’s really ok to go in one direction and then change my mind and go a different way I guess it’s just good to realize we aren’t at the ends of the trail quite yet!

    • I have those same thoughts Debra. I admit it, I have the ‘what if’s’. BUt….fortunately I also have the “still cans”. 😉 And thank you so very much.

  12. taylormitch says:

    Thanks for reminding me about the importance to stop and self-reflect on this mystery of a thing called life.

  13. reocochran says:

    Life is complicated! So many tests and books that once taken, tell you how to decide which direction to go in life.
    I had a very nice earth science teacher who discouraged me from pursuing the Peace Corps. He had followed this path and had an outstanding and inspiring journey. I wanted to go, too! He felt that I was “too tender hearted” to go! Oh, how I wish he had dropped by my house when as a single Mom of 5,3, and 1 year old I took on five more children to help raise and get paid to do so!
    I think sometimes our journey needs guidance but who to trust? Honestly, daily prayers help me to believe I was where I was “needed” during each step of the way. Thank you, God for your company. Hope this wasn’t too off the subject, Colleen. . . hugs xo

Leave a Reply

