I Went To My Mom’s

I went to my mom’s.

My husband and I.

We took her to lunch.

At her favorite restaurant.

But we weren’t allowed to eat dessert.

Because she made cake for us at home.

We went to a nursery

To buy some snow in summer.

But they didn’t have snow in summer.

They had snow on the mountains,

But it wasn’t the same.

We went back to her home.

Sat in the sun

And ate some cake.

Chocolate cherry cake.

It’s one of the top three cakes in the world.

And fresh made iced tea.

It was hard to leave.

Knowing the best gift we could give her

Is having us there.

So I’ll go back to mom’s.

Even when it’s not Mother’s Day.

Because she deserves that.

Happy Mother’s Day Mom.

❀

#4

Tagged , , , , ,

33 thoughts on “I Went To My Mom’s

  1. ksbeth says:

    the best gift of all, your sharing of space.

  2. Anonymous says:

    My very best days are when my children visit❀️❀️❀️❀️❀️❀️❀️❀️

  3. What a wonderful gift to give your mother for Mother’s Day!! That’s too bad you couldn’t get her the snow in summer. I am assuming this is a plant?

  4. Lovely — wish my mother were still here so that I could share cake in the garden with her!

  5. Beautiful, all of it including the Chocolate Cherry Cake. ❀

  6. russtowne says:

    Your mother must be proud her daughter has her priorities straight.

  7. A Mom is a mom forever😍

  8. goldenbrodie says:

    So lovely and that cake sounds delicious.

  9. Sorry bids like a nice day! Happy Mother’s Day!

  10. I love snow in summer, and I think Mums are the absolute best!

  11. Debra says:

    That’s a great sounding cake and a precious day, Colleen. I know it was a perfect day for your mom!

  12. reocochran says:

    This sounded like a perfect visit but for a couple minutes I contemplated, trying to picture your history and mother.

    (Forgive this thought but two of my best friends do this. . .I was almost thinking you went to her grave or a special place but you responded to everyone, as if you had spent time so an embarrassed at my first thought.)
    It is a blessing, she is still with you~ πŸ’ your extra sweet cherry chocolate cake baking mother. Happy Mother’s Day, belatedly. xo

Leave a Reply

