It Was Him Or Me….

I was on a bike ride.

Early morning.

Beautiful morning.

Oh my God what a beautiful morning.

I approached the bridge,

I had to take a sharp, very sharp, left

To get on the bridge.

The bridge is not wide enough for two of us.

One, only one.

I took the sharp turn.

Anything larger I would have seen as I approached,

And I would have patiently waited my turn.

But he was too small.

I turned on to the bridge,

All of two and half feet wide

Just wide enough for the handlebars.

And there he was.

On all fours.

I don’t know who was more shocked.

Him.

Or me.

I came to a complete stop.

I grabbed the rail of the bridge so I didn’t have to put my feet down.

He hissed.

He bared his teeth.

Neither of us could move forward without one of us being run over.

Or bitten.

I thought I was more scared of him

But he must have been more scared of me.

Without any warning

He took a flying jump

Off of the side of the bridge.

Death defying actually.

I mean

No holding back.

He jumped.

Hit the bushes and disappeared.

Scared the shit out of me

That damn little squirrel.

Tagged , , , , , ,

36 thoughts on “It Was Him Or Me….

  1. Kathy says:

    Thanks for the chuckle, sorry for your scare though. As I read, I pictured a bear, cougar, or maybe a wild dog. 🙂

    • Jesska says:

      I was too, if you add baby wild boar to that list

    • I didn’t even tell you about the hissing geese!!!!!

      • Kathy says:

        Well, I’m not a fan of hissing geese, I spent my childhood visits at my grandma’s farm running from them and other feathered tormentors. 🙂

        • I stopped, going out, and coming back. As 2 adult geese were herding baby geese straight down the bike path. I figured they were parenting. And me getting too close may induce an attack. No matter how long I waited (on the way back about 8 or 9 minutes) and whistled or asked them nicely to move they stood in the middle of the trail and hissed at me. I wasn’t risking it. Well, I finally did, but not until they moved to the side and he was NOT happy about me approaching.

  2. Morpheus Zzz says:

    I thought for sure it was going to be White House Press Secretary, Sean Spicer. lol

  3. ksbeth says:

    those crazy, killer squirrels are among us! )

  4. Ann Koplow says:

    Another great encounter! ❤

  5. Val Boyko says:

    Terrific Colleen 😆

  6. Hahahaha! I thought it was going to be a bobcat! LOL!!

  7. lbeth1950 says:

    Squirrels are suicidal.

  8. Didn’t think it was going to be a squirrel. Still smiling. 🙂

  9. goldenbrodie says:

    We have a tribe of these little critters that eat my bird seed, scare off the birds and smash my lovely flowers. Those dang squirrels.

  10. Oh man, those squirrels are stealthy bastards!

  11. Good thing he had his flying squirrel suit on! Glad you both escaped unscathed.

  12. Debra says:

    Oh my goodness! He was a flying squirrel after all! I thought it might have been a bear! LOL!

  13. reocochran says:

    What a mysterious plot with suspense. 🙂
    Poor guy! I bet he was shocked and scared! Glad squirrels must be like cats, land on their feet.

Leave a Reply

