From Home To The Ball Field

I was ten years old.

I was pedaling my bike like mad.

Riding from home to the ball field to watch a soccer game.

I remember the smell of flowers on that road that made me sweat riding there, but coming back I flew with the wind in my hair and my feet out.

That smell was amazing.

I wouldn’t have smelled it in the car.

I was free!   No worries.  No responsibilities.  No stress.

I had ice cream when I got home.

It was so amazing in it’s simplicity.

And I knew happy.

It’s the kind of feeling you can’t pretend into existence.

Oh I wasn’t ten.

That was yesterday.

What a great interlude to being a grown up.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “From Home To The Ball Field

  1. Jesska says:

    🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

  2. ksbeth says:

    yay, a great surprise !

  3. Victo Dolore says:

    I am jealous. Being a grown up is awesome when you can choose to be kid. 🙂

  4. That sounds and smells wonderful! A lovely memory that you can replay again and again as an adult!

  5. Great! Where did all that hair come from, and is that a chopper?

  6. reocochran says:

    Your description of the experience was extra exhilarating, Colleen!
    My last boyfriend and I bought cruising bikes and mine had red and white details with a Hawaiian design. I don’t have a shed nor garage so I let him pass it on to new girlfriend. Hoping this builds up good karma! Ha ha:D

Leave a Reply

