Recognizing The Truth Of It

When you feel bad for feeling mad.

But you just can’t help it.

I’ve had plenty of education and training about feelings.

Recognizing the truth of what you feel

Can make all the difference in the world.

Sometimes it’s easier to label our emotions as something they are not.

Like…

Labeling something as anger

Instead of the truth of fear or frustration or powerlessness

May be easier in some regards.

But it’s not easier or better

In the processing of it all

If it isn’t the truth of it.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

22 thoughts on “Recognizing The Truth Of It

  1. Ocean Bream says:

    Wow, this is very insightful, Colleen. Labelling something as anger when it might be something else. I have to go away and think about this for a while.

  2. ksbeth says:

    always back to the truth, the only way that works –

  3. Hmmm – Thank you for insightful, thought provoking words. I will have to rethink my emotions. Robin

  4. Good one. Feels like you’re in tune with the inside of my head with the last two posts. Happy weekend. โค

  5. inmycorner says:

    Powerlessness. I think that one may have just nailed mine on the head. Maybe that’s why I pull out all the “weapons” and arsenal terminiology I have to express how I feel? To feel some sort of control. Food for thought, my friend.

  6. Now ain’t that the truth – or not!
    Many have a default setting of anger now, without recognising it.

  7. taylormitch says:

    Ourv feelings and emotions can be so powerful.

  8. Definitely truth in this. Always great when you can get to the heart of the matter. I had a psych-degree college roommate who was a natural. She could flawlessly diagnose my issue w/o a second thought. Such a blessing to me.

  9. reocochran says:

    We are taught that anger is “wrong,” while stuffing your feelings is also “wrong.” Expressing feelings is okay and being anger is sometimes appropriate and As Long As No One Attacks Someone; it is okay to express oneself and maybe yell due to frustration too! Let it out but don’t hurt someone who may be a good listener and buffer for you.

  10. Debra says:

    So important! Thank you. Sometimes I forget and the mislabeling can get in the way of taking some steps forward!

Leave a Reply

