Nearly Excruciating

Today I sat in the brilliant sun.

I stared out at rolling earth that met with the endless celestial world

And I felt my heart at peace.

I sat with a friend and realized I wasn’t pushing myself to go, get to the next thing I have to do.

I was totally in the moment.

And pleased with the patience and peace I found in my soul. Β Having struggled all of my life with stillness – this was a gift that I can’t explain.

I felt my face heat up in the blaze of the sun. Β My eyes moved over water, over hill, over trees, over rocks.

My ears heard better.

My heart beat better.

My eyes saw clearly.

Oh.My.God.

The power of knowing I exist

Was fleeting

Nearly excruciating

In it’s explosion of realization.

Life was amplified in the stillness.

I exist.

 

 

 

Tagged , , , , , ,

26 thoughts on “Nearly Excruciating

  1. So happy for you! Zen.

  2. tarafaherty says:

    I could’ve told you that πŸ˜‰
    But seriously, quite powerful!

  3. Val Boyko says:

    Thank you for simply being πŸ’›

  4. russtowne says:

    Thank you for the reminder that miracles happen in the stillness, and that’s when we’re most likely to see them.

  5. ksbeth says:

    stillness and clarity – wonderful

  6. I haven’t felt this very much lately, so much doing, so much to be done. But I am familiar with this place of still bliss. I know I will feel it again.

  7. Illumination! An amazing thing!

  8. Ahh – I struggle with stillness too and know how awesome it is when it happens like that. ❀
    Diana xo

  9. Jim McKeever says:

    The beauty and peace of meditation.

    • I could never ‘master’ meditation Jim. Though sometimes, ‘it’ seems to settle in me at the oddest times. I can’t ‘make it’ happen. But it happens. πŸ™‚

  10. You exist, and we’re all glad that you do! I am good with stillness, at times too good. The awareness of just being is pretty awesome.

  11. April says:

    I love this! I read a quote by Eckhart Tolle….the act of being, is without thought (paraphrasing here because I can’t remember the exact quote) I do know that it has created a lot of thinking on my part, and a lot of practicing to clear my mind. I’m happy you exist!

Leave a Reply

