I Would Say I Embraced The Storm

This is not metaphorical

Or symbolic.

There are no literary devices at play today.

This, just was.

I found myself with nothing to do.

So I decided to take myself up the mountain.

There were no friends to make the climb social,

There was no purpose or goal to meet.

It was just something to do

To fill some time.

And something to do

That sounded like a good idea.

I went to the base and saw clouds in the far distance.

I went up the mountain

Hoping to sit and write

Or sit and draw

Or sit and breathe.

Because sitting on top of a mountain,

Alone,

Is better than sitting on the couch,

Alone.

Even,

When you are standing on top of the mountain

And the clouds envelope you.

and

The storm wraps it’s self around you.

If this was a brilliant literary piece

I would say I embraced the storm.


But

Because this is just about what was,

The truth needs told.

I turned

And ran like hell down the mountain.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

48 thoughts on “I Would Say I Embraced The Storm

  1. tric says:

    Very sensible if you ask me.

  2. Debra says:

    Wow! Scary! I’m glad you are safe, Colleen. ox

  3. wrivellaire says:

    awe striking piece of work! such simple but sensational poetry…cheers!

  4. duncanr says:

    really love that pic of you running down mountain !

  5. deepdwellers says:

    Thought too gud…

  6. Lovely storm. I can see how exhilarating the splash dash was!

  7. Looks like you made the right decision! Great illustrations, as always. πŸ™‚

  8. ivors20 says:

    I enjoyed reading, and your words made me smile, haha, to be able to run down the mountain

  9. Hahahahaha! I would too!!!

  10. Kathy says:

    Glad the story of your free shower didn’t include a stumble before you got home. πŸ™‚

  11. gypsy856 says:

    what mountain my friend??

  12. Because sitting on top of a mountain,

    Alone,

    Is better than sitting on the couch,

    Alone.

    Loved this line …and enjoyed reading your entire post, very beautiful!

  13. Would have been right behind you!

  14. goldenbrodie says:

    I was waiting for the quick exit. I was right behind you.

  15. reocochran says:

    Oh my goodness, Colleen! I am torn between thanking God for your life and laughing my behind off at your running like h – – -!! πŸ˜€
    Laughter trumps fear!

  16. Sometimes I’ve stood in a literal storm and sometimes I run from the metaphorical ones. Sometimes it’s the other way around. And sometimes I write about what was, and sometimes I like to read about what was. Like this.

  17. Izrael says:

    Beautiful. This just leave me speechless. Much love ❀

  18. Sharon Dear says:

    You put a smile on this face. I have little in the way of such beautiful a view and I surely can no longer run like hell. Thanks for letting be go along on your climb. It was fun from right here.

  19. Ben Sandberg says:

    I really like your drawings! They are subtle, yet powerful. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

