In That Pixel Part

In the large picture, or screen shot for modern day world, of life-this doesn’t matter.

It doesn’t matter that for lunch today I pulled into an almost empty parking lot.  I ate the salad I packed at home for my lunch.  In telling you that, maybe you had an image of me making and packing my lunch today.  Maybe you didn’t.  Because, it doesn’t matter.

It doesn’t matter that I turned the car off after I ate too fast, opened the car door, and turned sideways so my legs hung out of the driver’s side of the car.  And I sat facing the sun.

It doesn’t matter that the sun rested casually on my arms, my legs, and that the book was brilliantly illuminated.  The very book a young man of five years old, carried for me yesterday.

Maybe that doesn’t matter either.

It doesn’t matter that I read about eight pages.  And with some displeasure, closed my book.  I took care to stick the envelope I was using as a book mark into the pages where I wanted to go back to reading.  I really don’t like picking up a book and trying to find my place.  I want to pick it up and get right back into it.

This may be of no interest to anyone.

That may not matter either.

You, and everyone else, can dismiss this as not mattering.

But, it does.

I can’t live a big picture.  I don’t have that skill.

I only have the ability to be in my life, in that pixel part of the big picture, that I am in, for that minute.

The things that matter.

The sun and enjoying it on my lunch break.

The book.

The nourishment.

The smile, thinking of the child.

It may not matter to anyone else.

But they very much matter.

For all of our individual pictures, there are brush strokes and sketches that aren’t seen by others.

But the importance is there.

It very much is.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

30 thoughts on “In That Pixel Part

  1. jmgoyder says:

    Yes – noticing the moments as they rush by. Brilliant post x

  2. ivors20 says:

    You make me smile Colleen, everytime I read your words and view your drawings. And now I’m imagining you as a Fairy Tinkerbell, winging your way around a little pixel cosmos, sprinkling, goodwill angel dust, over everyone within reach of your magical starry wand…..Oh wonderdustful….

  3. ksbeth says:

    and all of life lies in the details.

  4. reocochran says:

    This was an excellent and original way to describe the moments in our day, Colleen!
    Your drawing enhanced it so well! I love (by the way) the pointillism part of a pixel full day. ❤ Stars are what also come to mind when I looked at this art, how small they are from afar, but how large they really are. A metaphor for your pixels. . . 🌌

  5. hedgehogsbiscuitscats says:

    This is amazing. Most of us run through life looking at the big picture, when we should really walk and take notice of the small stuff. Brilliant, thank you 😊

  6. It is those little moments that make the big picture and define who we are. Great post!

  7. Lovely descriptive reality. It may be time for all of us to start looking at the here and now, rather than the wider picture. If we can fix things as we encounter them, and sort small problems out with minimum effort, the bigger things will soon follow.

  8. Yes it matters, preciously!! I simply love love this post and the way you do it with simple words …yet creating a deep impact.

  9. gypsy856 says:

    They all matter because collectively they make up a marvelous picture……you!!!!

  10. goldenbrodie says:

    Every little moment…when you think about it that’s the way we remember our life experiences…minutes…seconds.. Oh my memory serves me well…the little blip…the little thing…the lingering smile. You got me thinking again…it’s all good.

  11. Debra says:

    I think you just described the essence of living in gratitude, Colleen. How lovely and oh that we would all just appreciate the simplest of things. If we didn’t have the ability to enjoy a simple lunch or stretch in the sun, the actions wouldn’t be seen as simple at all. They’d represent a huge loss! You’re on to something very important!

    • It dawned on me Debra, while I was stopped for lunch, that there are so many pixels of our lives that others do not know about. And though they truly don’t need to be known to everyone, they can’t be ignored by us. Those moments were all mine and if I had never taken notice….

  12. I love this. I love that it can work both ways, too. It’s good to look at the little moments that make up the bigger picture of happiness instead of looking too far to the future and becoming intimidated. It can be equally as good to sometimes look at the bigger picture when things aren’t going your way in the little moments, for the perspective that the tiny things are sometimes just that – tiny things. Fab post!

Leave a Reply

