By The Road

I was traveling for work today.

I was driving through a different city in an unfamiliar neighborhood.

Suddenly I saw two boys, probably around ten years old each, running from between some houses.

I slowed down thinking they were going to run into the street.

Instead, they each stopped right by the road, standing in the grass between the sidewalk and the curb.

A car was approaching from the other direction and they started waving madly at that car.

I couldn’t see what the other car did.

As I pulled closer they started waving madly at me.

With huge smiles on their faces.

I waved back.

That was all they wanted.

And all I needed.

 

With all that is going on in this world I’m heart glad for the reminders that children know what matter.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

45 thoughts on “By The Road

  1. ivors20 says:

    And to think I was a 10 year boy once, standing on the curb-side of the road waving to whom-ever may happen to be travelling by, youthfulness is a wondrous thing…..

  2. Cloud Walker says:

    It warms your heart.

  3. Anie Abraxas says:

    yes Colleen, these are some magic moments. Kids nowadays are doing natural things, less. I think because their parents told them not to do, or friends told them that it is uncool. But some of them you can animate…: )….if you see a child observing you ( they do a lot), you have to wave…they will turn away first, and after a while they will come back observing, and sometimes waving..; )

  4. ksbeth says:

    i so love this, colleen. a wake up call and reminder. provided by those who understand what’s important in the world, even when we forget –

  5. Simple joys. Perfect.

  6. One of life’s serendipitous moments.

  7. tric says:

    ‘The more things change the more things stay the same’. Hopefully something future generations will continue to do, interacting with real humans. Bet you wore a big smile afterwards.

  8. Oy, just wait until they’re teenagers…heh, heh!

  9. You wavedโ€ฆโ€ฆ.I’m glad you did, they’re glad you did, and I bet you are really, really, glad you did. The things that do not cost anything sometimes have the greatest worth.

  10. Anie Abraxas says:

    you are right Peter, and I didnยดt wave today, because I was too surprised…awed by too much family around, and not knowing if Iยดm welcome at the party….but at least I waved a little girl standing next to my table.

  11. goldenbrodie says:

    Those are the moments that make up all things good & right. More wonder please.

  12. yup! children knows things ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Ah, to be a kid again.

  14. Debra says:

    How unexpected, right? LOL! On my recent Amtrak travels I couldn’t believe how many people still stand by the side of a railroad track and wave at the passengers on the train. I always waved back. It makes me happy to know that at least two children aren’t so sophisticated and self-conscious that they miss out on simple playful gestures. I’m sure you smile every time you think of them!

Leave a Reply

